Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 143 years

Memorable Manitobans: Orville Ernest Holmes (1905-1987)


Born at Winnipeg on 27 April 1905, his long teaching career included service in rural Manitoba at Cowan School (1922) and Principalships of East Poplar Point School (1926-1928), Oakville School (1929-1932), and Sperling School (1932-1934). He then returned to Winnipeg where he taught at Aberdeen School (1934-1937, Acting Principal in 1937), St. John’s High School (1937-1939, 1940-1950), and Isaac Newton School (1939-1940). He was Principal of Ralph Brown School (1950-1954), Lord Nelson School (1954-1955), and Andrew Mynarski School (1955-1970). He retired in 1970. He died at Winnipeg on 20 February 1987 and was buried in the Elmwood Cemetery.


Birth registration, Manitoba Vital Statistics.

Annual Reports of the Manitoba Department of Education, Manitoba Legislative Library.

Obituary, Winnipeg Free Press, 23 February 1987, page 28.

Cowan Then and Now: 1898-2010 by Cowan History Book Committee, 2010, page 307.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 23 February 2019

Memorable Manitobans

Memorable Manitobans

This is a collection of noteworthy Manitobans from the past, compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. We acknowledge that the collection contains both reputable and disreputable people. All are worth remembering as a lesson to future generations.

Search the collection by word or phrase, name, place, occupation or other text:

Custom Search

Browse surnames beginning with:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the Memorable Manitobans Administrator at

Criteria for Memorable Manitobans | Suggest a Memorable Manitoban | Firsts | Acknowledgements

Help us keep
history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2022 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.