Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 142 years

Memorable Manitobans: Ben Shell (1925-2002)

Physician, anaesthesiologist.

Born at Winnipeg on 27 July 1925, he graduated from St. John’s High School and obtained BSc and MD degrees from the University of Manitoba. He was an anesthetist at the Misericordia Hospital for over 30 years where he pioneered the administration of outpatient anaesthesia for oral surgery. He served on the executive and was President of the Manitoba Anaesthesia Society, and was appointed by the Manitoba government to serve on the Board of Governors of the University of Manitoba and on the Medical Review Committee of the Manitoba Health Services Commission. He enjoyed golf, bridge, woodworking, listening to CBC Radio 2, and reading The New Yorker. A strong believer in social justice, he was a member of the CCF and NDP. He died at Winnipeg on 7 December 2002.


Obituary, Winnipeg Free Press, 11 December 2002.

“They will never be forgotten” by Kevin Rollason, Winnipeg Free Press, 31 December 2002, page A8.

This page was prepared by Ian Stewart.

Page revised: 12 January 2017

Memorable Manitobans

Memorable Manitobans

This is a collection of noteworthy Manitobans from the past, compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. We acknowledge that the collection contains both reputable and disreputable people. All are worth remembering as a lesson to future generations.

Search the collection by word or phrase, name, place, occupation or other text:

Custom Search

Browse surnames beginning with:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z

Send corrections and additions to the Memorable Manitobans Administrator at

Criteria for Memorable Manitobans | Suggest a Memorable Manitoban  | Firsts | Acknowledgements

Support the MHS

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2021 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.