Memorable Manitobans: Henry “Harry” Sandison (1861-1942)
Tailor, municipal official.
Born at Banffshire, Scotland on 28 February 1861, he attended public school there and, at the age of 12, apprenticed in a merchant tailor shop. As a journeyman at the age of 19 he emigrated to Canada and settled at Winnipeg and, within a few months, had opened his own tailor shop. He retired from business at the age of 41 to devote himself to public service.
He served on the Parks Board for 14 years, as chairman for three of them. He was chairman of the Carnegie Library Committee in charge of the opening of the library in 1904. He was elected to Winnipeg City Council for ward 2, and served from 1904 to 1906 during which time he was chairman of the Finance Committee and a member of the Works and Property, Fire, Water and Light, Trade and Commerce, and Entertainment Committees. Sandison has an enduring monument in Winnipeg’s Assiniboine Park for whose founding he was responsible. He attended the 1905 founding meeting, in Brandon, of the Union of Manitoba Municipalities.
In 1885, he married Christina Ross of Galt, Ontario. They had two sons (William R. Sandison and Herbert A. Sandison) and four daughters (Mrs. W. O. Edmunds, Mrs. F. J. Roschman, Mrs. E. L. Brisbin, and Joan Sandison). He was a member of the Knox United Church, the Masons (St. John’s Lodge), and the St. Andrew’s Society of Winnipeg, of which he served as President from 1903 to 1904.
He died at Winnipeg on 1 May 1942 and was buried in the Old Kildonan Cemetery.
“Harry Sandison, retired tailor, dies early Friday” Winnipeg Free Press, 1 May 1942, page 2.
Western Municipal News, May 1942, page 115.
Page revised: 8 August 2009
Back to top of page