Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 143 years

Memorable Manitobans: John Charles Murray Ligertwood (1891-1936)

Accountant, civil servant.

Born at Aberdeen, Scotland on 12 August 1891, he was educated at the Aberdeen Grammar School and became a chartered accountant. He came to Winnipeg in the fall of 1911 and was branch manager for the accounting firm of Peat, Marwick and Mitchell. He was President of the Manitoba Association of Chartered Accountants. During the First World War he served with the 76th Battery of the Royal Canadian Artillery. He was a keen golfer, and played cricket with the Winnipeg Wanderers when the team won the John Ross Robertson Cup. In 1932 he was appointed comptroller-general for the Province of Manitoba, serving until his death, which occurred at his Winnipeg home, 588 River Avenue, on 11 August 1936.


Death registration, Manitoba Vital Statistics.

“J. C. M. Ligertwood, since 1932 comptroller-general dies following stroke”, Winnipeg Free Press, 12 August 1936. [Manitoba Legislative Library, Biographical Scrapbook B9]

Page revised: 20 December 2009

Memorable Manitobans

Memorable Manitobans

This is a collection of noteworthy Manitobans from the past, compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. We acknowledge that the collection contains both reputable and disreputable people. All are worth remembering as a lesson to future generations.

Search the collection by word or phrase, name, place, occupation or other text:

Custom Search

Browse surnames beginning with:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the Memorable Manitobans Administrator at

Criteria for Memorable Manitobans | Suggest a Memorable Manitoban | Firsts | Acknowledgements

Help us keep
history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2022 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.