Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 143 years

Memorable Manitobans: Leo Arthur Slater (1896-1984)


Born at Napinka on 13 July 1896, son of Annie Barker and postmaster Andrew Slater, he attended Napinka School, Deloraine School, and the Manitoba Law School, obtaining an LLB degree from the latter in 1922. He was called to the Manitoba Bar that year and, in 1923, he established a private law practice at Morris. He was made a King’s Counsel in 1940. He ran for the Provencher constituency in the 1940 and 1945 federal elections and 1941 provincial election but was defeated each time. After practicing for over 50 years, he retired to Burnaby, British Columbia where he died on 13 June 1984.


Birth registration, Manitoba Vital Statistics.

1901 Canada census, Automated Genealogy.

“Three King’s Counsel for Manitoba named,” Winnipeg Free Press, 1 January 1940, page 3.

“Manitoba Bar honors 15 members’ service,” Winnipeg Free Press, 22 May 1975, page 25.

Death registration, British Columbia Vital Statistics.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 30 June 2018

Memorable Manitobans

Memorable Manitobans

This is a collection of noteworthy Manitobans from the past, compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. We acknowledge that the collection contains both reputable and disreputable people. All are worth remembering as a lesson to future generations.

Search the collection by word or phrase, name, place, occupation or other text:

Custom Search

Browse surnames beginning with:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the Memorable Manitobans Administrator at

Criteria for Memorable Manitobans | Suggest a Memorable Manitoban | Firsts | Acknowledgements

Help us keep
history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2022 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.