Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 140 years


Pay & Donate in the MHS Online Shop

Endangered Top 10
Top 10

Young Historians 2019

Jens Munk at Churchill
Field Trip:

Manitoba History No. 89

No. 89

War Memorials in Manitoba
in Manitoba

This Old Elevator
This Old

Abandoned Manitoba

Memorable Manitobans

Historic Sites of Manitoba
Historic Sites
of Manitoba

Memorable Manitobans: Arthur Lewis Sifton (1858-?)

Lawyer, judge.

Born at Middlesex, Ontario on 26 October 1858, son of John W. Sifton and Kate Watkins (c1834-1909), brother of Clifford Sifton, he was educated at public schools, Wesley College, and Victoria University. He was called to the bar in 1883 and moved to Alberta in 1889. He was elected a member of the Northwest Council in 1898 and was appointed Commissioner of Public Works for the North West Territories (1901), Chief Justice of the North West Territories (1903), and Chief Justice of Alberta (1907). He stepped down from the bench in May 1910 to become Premier of Alberta. He married Mary H. Deering of Cobourg, Ontario and they had one son and one daughter. He was a member of the Ranchman’s Club (Calgary) and Edmonton Club (Edmonton).


Who’s Who in Western Canada: A Biographical Dictionary of Notable Living Men and Women of Western Canada, Volume 1, edited by C. W. Parker, Vancouver: Canadian Press Association, 1911.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 2 December 2018

Memorable Manitobans

Memorable Manitobans

This is a collection of noteworthy Manitobans from the past, compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Search the collection by word or phrase, name, place, occupation or other text:

Custom Search

Browse surnames beginning with:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z | 2017

Send corrections and additions to the Memorable Manitobans Administrator at

Criteria for Memorable Manitobans | Suggest a Memorable Manitoban  | Our Inspiration | Acknowledgements

Support the MHS and

Back to top of page


To report an error on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations Policy

© 1998-2019 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.