Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 143 years

Memorable Manitobans: William “Bill” Addison (1908-2009)

Sports executive.

Born at Carberry on 13 April 1908, he was a life-long lover of sports. He was involved with the West End Orieoles Community Club, Winnipeg Pony League baseball and managing the Winnipeg Braves hockey team, which in the 1958-1959 season won the Memorial Cup, defeating the Petersborough Peters, led by the famous coach Scotty Bowman, the last Manitoba team to win the Memorial Cup. In 1970, he was awarded a Manitoba Centennial Medal by the Manitoba Historical Society. In 1985, he was inducted into the Manitoba Sports Hall of Fame as a Builder. He was the President of the MAHA and served as the Commissioner of the MJHL league for over two decades, ultimately having a division of the league named after him. He died at Winnipeg on 6 January 2009.


Obituary, Winnipeg Free Press, 10 January 2009.

We thank Don Addison for providing additional information used here.

This profile was prepared by Kris Keen and Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 17 July 2014

Memorable Manitobans

Memorable Manitobans

This is a collection of noteworthy Manitobans from the past, compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. We acknowledge that the collection contains both reputable and disreputable people. All are worth remembering as a lesson to future generations.

Search the collection by word or phrase, name, place, occupation or other text:

Custom Search

Browse surnames beginning with:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the Memorable Manitobans Administrator at

Criteria for Memorable Manitobans | Suggest a Memorable Manitoban | Firsts | Acknowledgements

Help us keep
history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2022 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.