Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 143 years

Memorable Manitobans: James Thomson (1854-?)

Click to enlarge

James Thomson
Click to enlarge

Miller, MLA (1888-1892).

Born at St. Ninians Parish, Scotland on 5 July 1854, son of Andrew and Janet Thomson, he came to Canada with his family in 1855 and settled in Grey County, Ontario and was educated in the public schools of Arran Township, Bruce County. He came to Manitoba in 1879 and worked as a miller. In October 1886, he married Kate McKay (?-1888, daughter of Angus McKay) of Owen Sound, Ontario. He was elected to the Manitoba Legislature, representing the Emerson constituency, at the 1888 general election. He was defeated in the 1892 general election by David H. McFadden.

No further information about him is presently available.


The Canadian Parliamentary Companion, 1889 edited by J. A. Gemmill.

Members of the Legislative Assembly (deceased), Legislative Assembly of Manitoba.

We thank Connor Mah for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 3 March 2020

Memorable Manitobans

Memorable Manitobans

This is a collection of noteworthy Manitobans from the past, compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. We acknowledge that the collection contains both reputable and disreputable people. All are worth remembering as a lesson to future generations.

Search the collection by word or phrase, name, place, occupation or other text:

Custom Search

Browse surnames beginning with:
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | Y | Z

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the Memorable Manitobans Administrator at

Criteria for Memorable Manitobans | Suggest a Memorable Manitoban | Firsts | Acknowledgements

Help us keep
history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2022 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.