Historic Sites of Manitoba: Beliveau School / College Beliveau (296 Speers Road, Winnipeg)
Located in the Windsor Park area of St. Boniface, this site was purchased from the Land Assembly and Development Company (Ladco). Construction of the school, as part of the St. Boniface School Division, began in October 1956. Originally a 13-room building, students attended staggered classes at Marion School prior to its opening in early 1957. Designed by the architectural firm of Zunic and Sobkowich, and completed at a cost of around $166,000, this French immersion facility operated as Beliveau Elementary School in its early years then converted to a junior high school. The building underwent several expansions including a nine-classroom addition in 1965 designed by local architect Etienne J. Gaboury. It is presently known as College Beliveau.
Among the teachers of Beliveau School was Elizabeth B. Fingas.
Photos & Coordinates
“School opening delay blamed on land firm,” Winnipeg Free Press, 10 November 1956, page 3.
“School Board, Ladco clear their troubles,” Winnipeg Free Press, 15 November 1956, page 3.
“Tenders,” Winnipeg Free Press, 3 December 1964, page 28.
We thank Mary Janzen for providing additional information used here.
This page was prepared by Nathan Kramer.
Page revised: 6 October 2019
Back to top of page