Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Wigton School No. 381 (RM of Argyle)

The Wigton School District was formally established in March 1885 and a school building was erected on the southwest corner of 6-4-13 west of the Principal Meridian, in the Rural Municipality of Argyle. The school closed in January 1960 and merged with Glenora School No. 736 and Excelsior School No. 449 to form Glenora Consolidated School No. 736. The building was moved to the Glenora School site and attached to it, but a monument commemorates its former site, along with pioneers of the Wigton district.

Among the teachers who worked at Wigton School were Mr. Babington, Mr. Chris Lawrence, Mrs. Richardson, Fred Stevens (c1888), D. A. Ross, Jack Tisdale, Albert E. Buttress (1893), Miss Lina Publow, Miss Grace Van Alstyne, Bert McGregor, Miss Maude Playfair, Miss Emma Stewart, Annie B. Fraser (1911-1912), Ada Bolton (1913), Ada Kelso (1914), Lillabelle McEwan (1915), Belle Smith (1916), Albert E. Buttress (1917-1918), Laura Blanks (1919), Edna Bowman (1919), Frank Private (1920), S. Oliver (1920), Carrie Lyall (1921), Elda Burr (1922), Bessie Haliday (1923), Nellie Hamblin (1924), Annie Easterby (1925), Edith Thompson (1926), Florence Hicks (1928), Clara Bell (1929), Hannah Balfour (1930-1932), Nelson Hawn (1933-1936), K. C. Mayhew (1938-1939), Inga Bjornson (1940), Lionel Clinch (1940), Ellen Beatty (1941), Ruth Lowe (1942), Norah Boyle (1944-1945), Carl Wanless (1946), Phyllis Lundgren (1948), Katherine E. Klassen (1949), Raymond Boyd (1950), Mildred Van Damme (1951-1954), Ruth McKay (1955), Miss Pawlik (1956), and Ella Cooney (1957).

Wigton School

Wigton School (no date) by G. H. Robertson
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 36.

Wigton School commemorative monument

Wigton School commemorative monument (October 2011)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.27389, W99.22374
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Baldur District Schools (RM of Argyle)


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Come Into Our Heritage: RM of Argyle, 1882-1982 by the Rural Municipality of Argyle, 1981, page 262.

We thank Brian Frederickson for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 22 January 2021

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.