Historic Sites of Manitoba: Orangehill School No. 794 (Municipality of Pembina)

The Orangehill School District was established in February 1894 and a one-room schoolhouse operated at NE24-3-7W in what is now the Municipality of Pembina. The school was closed from 1926 into the 1930s. It reopened around 1935 then closed permanently in the late 1950s. The building was demolished in1957 and the district was dissolved in 1964. Its area became part of the Thornhill Consolidated School District. No vestige of the school remains at the site.

Among the teachers of Orangehill School were Bertha Stewart, Isabella Stewart, H. F. Haffner, Mr. Stock, Andrew Slater, Mildred Johnston, Jack Murdoch, Fred Balfour, Miss Spencer, Jean Robson, Ida Keyes, Roy Sypher, Beatrice Ainsley, Eva O’Neil, Ethel Pogson, Cleta Rumball, Winona Howell, Mabel McIntyre, Josephine Salter, Elva Wright, Winnie Sanderson, Edith Finnan, Ethel Currie, Ottie Davis, Gladys Richardson, Eva Stevens, Eva Davis, Ada Balfour, Eva Pearson, Annie Medland, Eva Coulter, Isabel McKennitt, Vera McNair, Myra McKellar, Grace McNabb, Isabel Balfour, Rita Fletcher, Hugh McPhail, Marjorie Fairlie, Rena Cornwall, Mary Carson, Beatrice Hawken, Joy Warner, Lorraine Flannagan, Marian Ferguson, Kathleen Calder, Beulah Weeks, Violet Mulvaney, and Le Beau Arthurs.

An honour roll of students of Orangehill School who served during the Second World War is held in the Thornhill Community Hall.

Orangehill School

Orangehill School (1894)
Source: Archives of Manitoba, Thornhill - Schools - Orangehill 11.

Orangehill School

Orangehill School (no date) by G. G. Neufeld
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-2, page 1.

Orangehill School honour roll in the Thornhill Community Hall

Orangehill School honour roll in the Thornhill Community Hall (no date)
Source: Brian Andrew

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.22913, W98.27364
denoted by symbol on the map above

Second World War Casualties




Birth Date

Death Date

Norman Andrew Lumgair
[Morden, Thornhill]

408 Squadron, Royal Canadian Air Force

Pilot Officer

12 April 1922

15 March 1944

See also:

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Orange Hall School No. 1069 (RM of Elton)


Morden West topographic map, 62G/1 West, Series A743 [UFS Reference Collection].

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

As Years Go By: 1876-1971 by the Thornhill Book Committee, 1971. [Manitoba Legislative Library, F5649.T57 Asy]

We thank Darryl Toews and Brian Andrew for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 12 November 2023

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!