Historic Sites of Manitoba: Dublin Bay School No. 2010 (RM of Dauphin)

The Dublin Bay School District for organized formally in August 1920 and, by the following year, a one-room schoolhouse operated at the southeast corner of SE29-27-18W in the Rural Municipality of Dauphin. Low student enrollment forced the school to close permanently in June 1952. Students from the area were then transported to Fairville School. The former school building was moved in 1953 to the Ferley School District and, ten years later, was converted into a community hall. The district was dissolved in 1965 and its area became part of the Dauphin Ochre School Division. A commemorative monument, featuring a model of the former schoolhouse, was unveiled at the original site on 25 July 1981.

The teachers of Dublin Bay School were Stuart Farr (1921-1922), E. H. Milward (1922), L. J. Kennedy (1922), Earl C. Cook (1922-1923), William J. Avison (1923), Norman McDonald (1924-1925), Jeannette M. Eagle (1925), Walter G. Crane (1926-1927), Alma E. Short (1928-1929), Belinda Frost (1929-1930), C. G. Honsinger (1930), Abia D. Morgan (1930-1931), Geoffrey Greatorex (1931-1933), Maurice Karalnick (1933-1934), Mary R. Urbanovitch (1934-1939), Eugenia Negrich (1939-1940), Mary R. Prokopowich (1940-1942), Margaret Leskiw (1942-1943), Marie E. Gregorash (1943-1944, 1945-1947), Adeline Kozak (1944-1945), Marie E. Kaleta (1947), Elizabeth C. Kay (1948), Edna G. Caryk (1948-1949, 1950-1951), Dorothy Hafenbrak (1949), Walter Nakoneshny (1951), Steve Stasuik (1951-1952), and Melvin Solar (?-?).

Dublin Bay School

Dublin Bay School (no date) by H. J. Everall
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-3, page 77.

Unveiling of Dublin Bay commemorative monument

Unveiling of Dublin Bay commemorative monument (July 1981)
Source: Dauphin Herald, 29 July 1981.

Dublin Bay School commemorative monument

Dublin Bay School commemorative monument (September 2015)
Source: Alan Mason

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N51.33261, W99.94874
denoted by symbol on the map above


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

“Reunion marks 60 years,” Dauphin Herald, 29 July 1981, page A4.

Records for the Dublin Bay School reunion in 1981 are held at Fort Dauphin Museum.

Manitoba Permit Teachers of World War II, compiled by Louisa Loeb, Winnipeg: Hyperion Press Ltd., 2007.

We thank Alan Mason and Nathan Kramer for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 29 December 2019

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!