Historic Sites of Manitoba: École Crane School (888 Crane Avenue, Winnipeg)
The ten-classroom elementary school was established in the Fort Garry School District No. 2047. The building was designed by the architectural firm of Prain and Ward and built at a cost of $145,000. The school opened on 1 September 1955. Three years later, six more classrooms were added at the cost of $90,000. It became part of the Fort Garry Municipal School District No. 2361 in 1959 then, later that year, part of the Fort Garry School Division. The school converted to French immersion in the Fall of 1987 and was renamed École Crane.
In 2004, a garden in front of the school was dedicated to late Principal Elizabeth Irene Bennett, and a commemorative plaque was affixed.
Photos & Coordinates
“Tenders,” Winnipeg Free Press, 21 December 1954, page 29.
“Fort Garry,” Winnipeg Free Press, 27 August 1955, page 3.
“Three new mayors in metro suburbs,” Winnipeg Free Press, 24 October 1957, page 1.
“C. V. Thiessen head Valley teacher group,” Winnipeg Free Press, 7 November 1957, page 2.
“Tenders,” Winnipeg Free Press, 3 January 1958, page 26.
“Principal to speak,” Winnipeg Free Press, 16 March 1963, page 17.
“School’s reopening to affect others,” Winnipeg Free Press, 18 May 1979, page 3.
“Fort Garry School Board retirement announcement,” Winnipeg Free Press, 23 June 1985, page 10.
“South Winnipeg schools switching principals,” Winnipeg Free Press, 14 July 2004, page 67.
Henderson’s Winnipeg and Brandon Directories, Peel’s Prairie Provinces, University of Alberta Libraries.
We thank Christopher Pate and Anna Zonneveld for providing additional information used here.
This page was prepared by Nathan Kramer.
Page revised: 3 February 2020