Why is this page orange?

Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Sidney School No. 607 (Sidney, Municipality of North Norfolk)

Link to:
Principals | Vice-Principals | Teachers | Photos & Coordinates | Sources

The Sidney School District was formally established in October 1889. The first school was located one-half mile south of the town of Sidney, at NW5-11-12W in what is now the Municipality of North Norfolk, and operated from 1890 to 1897, with Miss McLeod of Winnipeg as its first teacher. A two-room brick structure was opened in Sidney and operated from 1897 to 1906. A third, larger two-room frame structure held classes from 1906 to 1968. A third room for the high school was added and operated from 1928 to June 1963, after which senior students were bused to Austin School or Carberry School. Two years after the school closed in 1968, the building was purchased from the Pine Creek School Division and used as a community centre. In July 2000, a monument was erected beside the former school building.

Inside the community centre are plaques commemorating local residents who served and were killed during military service in the First World War and Second World War, including an honour roll created by artist Lionel LeMoine FitzGerald.





John Erickson (?-?)


Benjamin Hodkinson (1864-1948)


Ruth Parker (1894-1953)


Sarah Ann Sproat (1885-1976)


Jean Willis Little


David S. Shellenberg (?-?)


Claude Amnesty Joyce (1908-1997)


Cecil Cullen Foster (1911-1998)


Irene Rose Bonniman


D. Bruce Johnson


Anne Margaret Zalubniak [Zalubnick]


Jack Hersey Gibson (1917-2009)


Kenneth Donald Bruce (1892-1968)


William V. Domitrack (1908-1978)


Frank Cecil Jacobs (1914-2002)


J. R. Fawcett


Among the other teachers of Sidney School were Miss McLeod (1890), Edgar S. Smith (1894-1897), W. Wagg (1895), R. L. Ross (1895), George H. Knowlton (1895-1896), Mary H. Hodgson (1898), William Emmerson (1899-1900), Mary Clarke (1900-1901), Nellie Wilson (1900-1901), E. K. Marshall (1901, 1905), Charles L. Willis (1905), William E. Kilpatrick (1906-1907), Lena McIntosh (1906-1908), Ida Madill (1907-1908), Robert Moir (1908), Minnie M. Reid (1908-1909), Leslie E. Grace (1909-1911), Katie E. Armstrong (1910-1911), Ethel A. Brickley (1911-1912), Margaret McKay (1911-1912), Etta H. Crewson (1912-1920), Laura Crewson (1912-1920), J. J. Jackson (1920-1921), Gertrude E. Jackson (1920-1921), L. Inkster (1921-1922), Beatrice Creasy (1921-1922), Effie R. Johnson (1922), Mary E. Clark (1922-1924), W. C. Hodkinson (1923), Margaret A. Chalmers (1924), Aileen M. Moore (1924), Marjorie M. Shortreed (1925-1926), Bertha Nelson (1925), Harry B. Hunter (1925-1927), Agnes Meta Neville (1927-1930), Florence C. Blair (1927-1928), Jean L. Babb (1928), Thomas Leslie Fox (1929-1930), Susan Menzies (1930-1935), Dorothy I. Bailey (1930-1932), Marjorie M. Muirhead (1932-1936), Muriel Moffatt (1935-1936), Margaret Jeannette Patterson (1936-1938), Muriel MacCunningham (1939-1940), Earla Gertrude Nattrass (1941), Jessie Murray Hannah (1941-1942), Jack H. Gibson (1942), Mrs. Betha Evelyn Gibson (1942-1947), D. Bruce Johnson (1943), Mrs. Rhoda E. Gibson (1943), Tranna F. Calvert (1946-1954), Donna W. Wedow (1948-1949), Kathleen Shoemaker (1950), Mrs. Donna W. Wright (1950-1956), Doreen M. Skogsterd (1954-1956), Mrs. Doreen Stephenson (1955-1956), Lucy Medevid (1955-1957), Muriel J. Cherry (1957-1959), Glen A. Lowe (1958-1963), Ethel A. Gregory (1963-1964), Mrs. W. Alton (1964-1965), Mrs. Perly Bell (1965), Mrs. Dave Sissons (1966-1967), and Penny Emisch Ham (1966-1967).

Photos & Coordinates

Sidney School building erected in 1906

Sidney School building erected in 1906 (circa 1906)
Source: Education Department Report, 1907, Manitoba Legislative Library.

Sidney School

Sidney School (no date) by A. B. Fallis
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 96.

Sidney School

Sidney School (June 1967)
Source: Archives of Manitoba, Architectural Survey - Sidney 3.

The former Sidney School

The former Sidney School (circa 1986)
Source: Historic Resources Branch, Public School Buildings Inventory, slide 895.

The former Sidney School

The former Sidney School (April 2015)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Sidney School commemorative monument

Sidney School commemorative monument (April 2010)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.89834, W99.08553
denoted by symbol on the map above

First World War Casualties





Birth Date

Death Date

Arthur Allwood
[Brandon Armoury]


8th Battalion, Canadian Infantry


17 August 1888

3 November 1917

Charles Edgar Atheling (Dykes) Bredin DSO
[Edrans, Next of Kin, Portage]


28th Battalion, Canadian Infantry


18 August 1876

18 November 1917

William Dines


1st Canadian Mounted Rifles


1 March 1892

29 September 1918

George Hunt

Farm Labourer

27th Battalion, Canadian Infantry


14 May 1886

3 May 1917

Stanley King


8th Battalion, Canadian Infantry


13 May 1892

9 April 1918

John Lauder
[Cypress River]


8th Battalion, Canadian Infantry


25 October 1896

28 April 1917

Charles William McElrea
[Next of Kin]

Electrical Engineer

2nd Army Troops Company, Canadian Engineers


6 August 1887

31 May 1917

Clarence Edwin McLachlan

Farmer's son

78th Battalion, Canadian Infantry


18 December 1896

19 February 1917

Alexander McNab
[Knox Presbyterian, Portage, Telephones]

Telephone Inspector

10th Battalion, Canadian Infantry


21 August 1891

24 May 1915

Joseph Edmond Sexton


1st Canadian Mounted Rifles


9 April 1888

20 December 1916


Annual Reports of the Manitoba Department of Education, Manitoba Legislative Library.

A Rear View Mirror: A History of the Austin and Surrounding Districts by Anne M. Collier, Altona: Friesen Printing, 1967.

Through Fields and Dreams: A History of the Rural Municipality of North Norfolk and MacGregor by The History Book Committee of the North Norfolk-MacGregor Archives, 1998, page 1161.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

A Study of Public School Buildings in Manitoba by David Butterfield, Historic Resources Branch, Manitoba Department of Culture, Heritage and Tourism, 1994, 230 pages.

We thank Nathan Kramer, Pearl Wieler, and Darryl Toews for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 10 December 2022

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.