Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 141 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Kane Consolidated School No. 2006 (Kane, RM of Morris)

Link to:
Principals | Vice-Principals | Teachers | Photos & Coordinates | Sources

The Kane Consolidated School District was established in August 1919, consolidating the Queen Centre School No. 1219 with portions of the districts of Bloomfeld School No. 793, Kronsweide School No. 1030, Neufeld School No. 1580, and Woodvale School No. 1350.

A two-classroom, brick and lumber school building was erected in Kane, in the Rural Municipality of Morris, opening in September 1920. It operated until 1957 when it was replaced by a four-classroom structure. It later became part of the Morris-Macdonald School Division. The school closed in 1973 and was used for a time as a community centre then a mechanical repair shop and hobby ranch. It has now been renovated into a church.

A commemorative monument, dedicated on 2 July 2000, stands beside the former school building. On its back side is information on John Henry Kane, the founder of the Kane community.





G. G. Siemens


Nicolai G. Neufeld


Henry Friesen


John S. Schellenberg (?-?)


John Irving Warkentin


Otto D. Funk


Gerhard N. Janzen


John Suderman


Henry Letkeman


Other teachers who taught at Kane School included: Rose Barns (1920-1921), James R. Simms (1921), C. W. Wiebe (1921), Blanche H. Molloy (1921, 1925-1926), J. R. H. Simms (1921), C. S. Daintry (1922), Bernice M. Daintry (1922), A. M. Laine (1922-1924), Charles F. Laine (1922-1924), Clifford G. Williamson (1924-1925), Mary J. Parkins (1925-1927), Norma Miller (1926-1927), F. Alywin Anderson (1927-1929), Melvin T. Woods (1927-1929), Sarah Sawatsky (1930-1931), Margaret Toews (1930-1932), Gertrude Hooge (1931-1932), J. H. Giesbrecht (1932-1934), Mabel M. Anderson (1933-1937), Evelyn Jack (1937-1939), Rose Evelyn Russell (1939-1941), Jean Sinclair (1939-1940), Tina V. Warkentine (1941-1944, 1951), Mary J. Loewen (1941-1942), Helen J. Penner (1942-1943), Rufus J. Schellenberg (1943-1945), Hilda Lohrenz (1945-1946), Marion E. Hiebert (1945-1946), Mary Duerksen (1946-1947), Ella Klassen (1946-1947), Henry Friesen (1946-1947), Helen Penner (1947-1948), Jacob Bergen (1947-1948), Irene Koop (1948-1949), Tina Penner (1948-1949), Marion Wiebe (1949-1952), Erdman Kroeker (1949-1950), Myron White (1950), Jack A. Sawatzky (1951-1953), Joyce M. Dyck (1952-1953), E. Joan Suderman (1953-1954), C. N. Stobbe (1954), John Suderman (1953-1960), Helen Duerksen (1954-1955), Susan Peters (1955-1957), Norma Spalding (1957-1958), Evelyn Harder (1958-1960), Bill Braun (1958-1965), Pat Giesbrecht (1960-1962), John L. Doerksen (1960-1961), Robert S. Taylor (1961-1962), Charlotte Enns (1962-1964), Joyce Wiebe (1964-1966), Erna Peters (1965-1967), Janet Bock (1965-1967), Larry Neufeld (1965-1967), Louise Kliewer (1966-1967), Lois Schellenberg (1967-1968), Frank G. Kehler (1967-1971), Henry W. Funk (1967-1968), Lois Wiebe (1968-1969), Gloria Penner (1968-1973), Vernon Penner (1968-1970), Joanne Friesen (1969-1970), Elsie Klassen (1970-1971), Henry Kroeker (1970-1971), Doris Daku (1971-1972), Marion Harder (1970-1973), Robert Martens (1971-1972), Marilyn Goertzen (1973), and Larry Eidse (1972-1973).

Photos & Maps

Original Kane School

Original Kane School (no date)
Source: Kane - The Spirit Lives On, page 23.

Second Kane School

Second Kane School (1959)
Source: Kane - The Spirit Lives On, page 24.

Former Kane School building

Former Kane School building (circa 1986)
Source: Historic Resources Branch, Public School Buildings Inventory, slide 731.

Former Kane School building

Former Kane School building (September 1987)
Source: Ed Arndt

Former Kane School building

Former Kane School building (September 1987)
Source: Ed Arndt

Former Kane School building

Former Kane School building (June 2012)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Kane School commemorative monument

Kane School commemorative monument (June 2012)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.35548, W97.72667
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Memorable Manitobans: John Henry Kane (1861-1951)

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Lowe Farm Monument (Lowe Farm, RM of Morris)

Manitoba Organization: Morris-Macdonald School Division School District No. 19


Annual Reports of the Manitoba Department of Education, Manitoba Legislative Library.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

A Study of Public School Buildings in Manitoba by David Butterfield, Historic Resources Branch, Manitoba Department of Culture, Heritage and Tourism, 1994, 230 pages.

Kane - The Spirit Lives On by Kane History Book Committee, 2000.

Aerial photograph A11637-156 [1948], Manitoba Air Photo Library.

We thank Mariette Allen for assistance in locating an aerial photograph of Kane School.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 12 August 2019

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Search Tips | Suggest a Site | FAQ | Acknowledgements

Send inquiries to the MHS Webmaster.

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations Policy

© 1998-2020 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.