Manitoba Organization: Manitoba Hotel Association

Established in 1904 as the Manitoba Hotel Keepers’ Association, it was later renamed the Province of Manitoba Hotel Association. In 1927, a second organization named the City and Provincial Hotelmen’s Association was founded but the two rival organizations united in April 1928 to form the Manitoba Hotel Association, with its executive drawn mostly from that of the newer organization.





William John “Billy” O’Connor (1837-1910)




George Edward Dangerfield (1863-1923)


Francis Stanley “Frank” Fowlie (1890-1958)


George John Prost (1915-2008)


Edward James “Ted” Bloomer (1924-2012)


Frederick William “Fred” Dangerfield (1888-1959)


George Frederick Dangerfield (1914-1991)

See also:

Memorable Manitobans: Charles Albert Tanner (1887-1970)


“In interest of hotelkeepers,” Winnipeg Tribune, 7 March 1904, page 3.

“Repudiate new association of hotel keepers,” Winnipeg Tribune, 19 November 1927, page 10.

“Rival hotel associations effect amalgamation,” Manitoba Free Press, 11 April 1928, page 7.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 22 October 2023