Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Portage Land Titles Building (103 Third Street NE, Portage la Prairie)

Link to:
Registrars | Photos & Coordinates | Sources

This one-storey brick building in Portage la Prairie is one of the best remaining examples of the modest public buildings the provincial government constructed in small urban centres around the turn of the twentieth century. Built in 1889 on a design by architect Edward Francis Head, the Neo-Classical-style facade was added in 1906 when the building was enlarged and refaced under the direction of Provincial Architect Samuel Hooper, at a cost of some $8,000.





George William Beynon (1856-1902)


William James Cooper (1860-1913)


John B. Cain


John O’Reilly (1844-1914)


Henry B. St. G. Marshall (c1876-?)


Roy McKay

Photos & Coordinates

Portage Land Titles Building

Portage Land Titles Building (November 2010)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Portage Land Titles Building

Portage Land Titles Building (August 2017)
Source: George Penner

Portage Land Titles Building

Portage Land Titles Building (January 2021)
Source: Rose Kuzina

Rear view of Portage Land Titles Building

Rear view of Portage Land Titles Building (January 2021)
Source: Rose Kuzina

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.97507, W98.28570
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Memorable Manitobans: Edward Francis Head (1854-1924)

Memorable Manitobans: Samuel Hooper (1851-1911)

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Boissevain Land Titles Building (North Railway Street, Boissevain)

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Brandon Land Titles Building (705 Princess Avenue, Brandon)

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Carman Land Titles Building (Second Street SW, Carman)

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Dauphin Land Titles Building (308 Main Street South, Dauphin)

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Morden Land Titles Building (351 Stephen Street, Morden)

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Neepawa Land Titles Building (329 Hamilton Street, Neepawa)

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Newcomb’s Hollow - Old Deloraine Land Titles Office (Municipality of Deloraine-Winchester)

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Portage Land Titles Building (103 Third Street NE, Portage la Prairie)

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Stonewall Land Titles Building / Stonewall Town Hall (293 Main Street, Stonewall)

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Union Bank Building / Virden Land Titles Office (190 Nelson Street West, Virden)

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Winnipeg Land Titles Building (433 Broadway, Winnipeg)


Public Buildings Erected and Improved by the Government of Manitoba during the Years 1900-1906, Government of Manitoba, December 1906. [Copy at Archives of Manitoba]

Portage Land Titles Building, Manitoba Historic Resources Branch

Manitoba Heritage Council Minutes, 1 December 1990.

We thank Tim Worth, Rose Kuzina, and George Penner for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 3 June 2022

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.