Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Ellwood School No. 1233 (Municipality of WestLake-Gladstone)

The Ellwood School District was organized formally in May 1903. A school building was constructed on the northwest quarter of 31-12-11 west of the Principal Meridian, in what is now the Municipality of WestLake-Gladstone. The school closed in January 1965. A monument was dedicated on 7 August 1994 to the settlers, teachers, trustees, parents and students on Ellwood School. The school site was about one mile west and a half mile south of the monument, which is in the Municipality of WestLake-Gladstone.

Among the teachers of Ellwood School were Helen B. Corbett (1905), Perley Murphy (1905), Elizabeth McNeilly (1906), Lena Robertson (1906), Robena C. McRae (1907-1908), Frederick L. Bell (1908-1909), James S. Atrill (1909-1910), J. Holmes Cathcart (1910-1911), V. M. Wilton (1912), Helen Winstone (1912), C. Douglas Street (1913), Mary Wright (1914), Florence Toll (1914-1915), A. L. MacLellan (1915), L. R. Thorn (1915), Grace McDonald (1916), A. A. Paisley (1916-1917), Annie McEachern (1917-1920), Annie E. Vine (1918), H. I. Lamb (1918), Dorothy A. Nevill (1920-1921), H. Spencer Percival (1921), Helga Bergman (1922-1923), Reta L. Mackenzie (1923-1924), Mary L. Day (1924), Mary C. Campbell (1925), Olive A. Jenner (1925-1928), Eva M. McIntyre (1928-1929), Annie L. McFarlane (1929-1930), Dorothy Isobel Murta (1930-1932), Ida Jean Fehr (1932), Violet M. Jackson (1932-1937), Nancy McKay (1937-1938), Margaret Wilkinson (1938-1940), Cecil B. Montgomery (1940-1942), Mrs. G. A. Lowe (1942), Mrs. K. M. Duncan (1942-1944), Elizabeth M. Ritteringham (1944), M. T. Pennarum (1945), Mary L. Duncan (1945-1946), Agnes Martens (1946), Thelma P. Manns (1947), Edna Lane (1947), Mrs. Evelyn G. MacKinley (1947-1948), Norma Patterson (1948-1949), Mary Wiebe (1949-1950), I. D. Bothwell (1950-1951), Dorothy M. Hay (1951-1952), Bernice Doran (1952-1953), Shirley Jones Maxwell (1953-1954), Loretta Mashinski (1954-1955), Mrs. Gertrude Tait (1955), Mrs. A. Twerdochlib (1956), Mrs. C. Smith (1956), Darlene R. Lee (1956-1957), Mrs. V. A. Hagebonn (1957), Mrs. Gregory (1957), Mrs. Smith (1957), Robert Deverson (1957-1960), Gary Rogers (1958), Mrs. Elizabeth Littan (1958), and Dorothy Blair (1959).

Ellwood School commemorative monument

Ellwood School commemorative monument (September 2010)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N50.06377, W98.95112
denoted by symbol on the map above


A Rear View Mirror: A History of the Austin and Surrounding Districts by Anne M. Collier, Altona: Friesen Printing, 1967.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 18 February 2021

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.