Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Arnes School No. 586 (RM of Bifrost-Riverton)

The Arnes School District was organized formally in May 1889 and was known informally as Arnes North School to distinguish it from Arnes South School. The first school building was located near Lake Winnipeg by Drunken Point in the Rural Municipality of Bifrost. That school was abandoned in 1950, in favour of a new site a mile north of Arnes, at SW21-21-4E. In January 1966, the district was dissolved and its catchment area became part of the Riverton Consolidated School District and later the Evergreen School Division.

Among the teachers of Arnes South were Kr. Lifman (Fall 1889), J. Magnus Anderson (Spring 1890 - Spring 1891), J. Runolfson (Fall 1891 - Spring 1892), Sveinn Thorvaldson (Fall 1892 - Spring 1893), Hjortur J. Leo (Fall 1893 - Spring 1894), H. Sigurdsson (Fall 1894 - Spring 1895), J. G. Sveinarson? (Fall 1895 - Fall 1896), ? (Spring 1897), Th. Thorvaldson (Fall 1897), E. Johanneson (Spring 1898), John Erickson (Fall 1898 - Spring 1901 & Spring 1913 - Spring 1914), ? (Fall 1901), records unavailable (Spring 1902 - Fall 1904), Rose E. Christopherson (Spring 1905 - Spring 1906), Gudrun E. Jonasson (Fall 1906), Vala O? Th. Jonasson (Spring 1907), Gudlang Guttormsson (Fall 1907), Stefan A. Bjarnason (Spring-Fall 1908), school did not operate (Spring 1909), Sigrun I. Helgason (Fall 1909 & Fall 1914), G. J. Bjarnason (Spring 1910 - Fall 1911), S. G. Lindal (Spring-Fall 1912), Edith G. Harris (Spring 1915), Albina Melsted (Fall 1915 - 1916 & 1917), Eileen M. Bard (1916), Myrtle W. Hazelwood (1917), Margaret Sigurdson (1918), Jessie Finker (1919), J. Belton (1919), Thuridar Johnson (1920-1921), Ingolfur Gilbert Arnason (1921), Capitola Sigvaldason (1921-1922), Lara B. Thordarsen (1923), Veiga Arason (1923), Anna H. Eirikson (1924), Valdina S. Sigvaldason (1924-1925), Bessie B. Olson (1925-1926), Lara B. Sigurdson (1927-1929), Ingibjorg Sveinsson (1929-1930),Cora Mimnaugh (1930-1931), Steinunn Johanna Johannsson (1931-1932), Jona Margaret Sigurdson (1934-1935), Lilja Maria Gutormsson (1935-1937), Anna Fjola Gislason (1937-1939), Haraldur Victor Vidal [1940], Ingibjorg Sigvaldason (1940-1941), Mrs. O.F. Otter (1941-1942), Jamina Ellen Gunnlaugson? (1941-1942), Gudbjorg Hjattason (1942), Ljotun Thorsteinnson (1943), Jonisina Gudbjorg Abrahamson (1943-1944), Freda Thorkelson (1944-1945), Irene Hodgon (1945-1946), Vigdes Peterson (1946-1947), Rose C. Polka (1948-1950), Frank Sigurdson (1950-1951), Kristine S. Finnson (1951-1952), A. Frank Sigurdson (1952-1953), James Gordon “Jim” Ladoski (1953-1954), Frederica Peterson (1954-1957), Gail Uenger (1957-1958), Marguerite Breland (1958-1961), Marilyn Einette Schnedar (1961-1963), Jocelyn Zebrynski (1963-1964), and Mrs. Jocelyn Hayka (1965-1966).

Arnes School

Arnes School (no date) by H. D. Cumming
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 92.

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N50.81720, W96.99290
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Arnes South School No. 1054 (RM of Gimli)


Summative half-yearly returns for school districts (A 0051), Archives of Manitoba.

Manitoba School Records Collection, Arnes School District No. 586, GR6124, Archives of Manitoba.

Riverton West topographic map, 62I/15 West, Edition 1, Series A743 [Archives of Manitoba].

Gimli Saga by the Gimli Women’s Institute, 1974, page 181-182.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough and Nathan Kramer.

Page revised: 1 January 2023

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.