Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Manitoba Organization: Lawrence Municipal School District No. 2208

The Lawrence Municipal School District was formed in April 1936 by merging several smaller school districts operating within the Rural Municipality of Lawrence, as follows:

Bluebell School

Cecil School

Coronation School

Dane McCarthy

Edillen School

Freedale School

Horyn School

Janowski School

Magnet School

Methley School

Micawber School

Million School

Moose Bay School

Rorketon School

Toutes Aides School

In 1967, the district became part of Duck Mountain School Division.


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

School District Formation Files [Lawrence Municipal School District No. 2208], GR1688, E0027, Archives of Manitoba.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 9 August 2015

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.