Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Manitoba Organization: Commercial Club of Winnipeg / Carleton Club

Link to:
Founders | Presidents | Sources

On 29 March 1901, the Commercial Club of Winnipeg was incorporated by a group of prominent merchants and businessmen. The name was changed to Carleton Club after it had operated for several years. For much of its history, the Club accepted only male members. After 90 years, it began to accept women as members in late 1991. But the change was not enough to keep the Club in operation. It closed its doors in July 1995, citing declining membership in the face of corporate cutbacks.


John Arbuthnot (1861-1931)

Elisha Frederick Hutchings (1855-1930)

Charles Henry Cordingley (1851-1920)

James Porter (1852-1922)

Edward Nicholson (1867-1923)

Donald Ross Dingwall (1851-1913)

Hodgson Wilberforce Hutchinson (1862-1949)

Frank Graham Walsh (1858-?)

Arthur Stewart (1854-1913)





Peter Duncan McKinnon (1852-1940)


Gilbert Alexander Muir (1912-1973)


Frank van Ginkel (1926-2002)


Joseph Paul Marion (1927-2023)


William Aitken (1893-1963)


“Male-only enclave now open to women,” Winnipeg Free Press, 1 November 1991.

“Carleton Club closes doors,” Winnipeg Free Press, 29 July 1995.

We thank Nathan Kramer for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 25 June 2023

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.