Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 141 years

Manitoba Organization: Brooklands School District No. 1440

The Brooklands School District was formally established in December 1907 and through the years it operated four school in Brooklands:

Brooklands “White School” / Cressey School (1919 Pacific Avenue West)

Brooklands “Red School” / Krawchyk School (1921 Pacific Avenue West)

Butterworth School / Brooklands School (1950 Pacific Avenue West)

Woodsworth School (King Edward Street)

Around 1967, the district eventually became part of the St. James Assiniboia School Division.

District Principals




George Henry Blackwell (1864-1941)


James Thomas Cressey (1859-1950)


Stephen Nicholas Krawchyk (1903-1943)


Percy Albert Lanham (1911-1999)


Frederick George Tipping (1885-1973)


John Lyzun (1913-1984)

After 1967

See Butterworth School and Krawchyk School


Annual Reports of the Manitoba Department of Education, Manitoba Legislative Library.

A Short History of Brooklands Elementary Schools including Woodsworth, Cressey, Krawchyk, Butterworth, St. James Assiniboia School Division.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

“St. James - Assiniboine School Board,” Winnipeg Free Press, 15 May 1993, page A11.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 2 February 2020

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations Policy

© 1998-2020 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.