Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Manitoba Organization: Assiniboine North School Division No. 2

The Assiniboine North School Division was created on 1 April 1959 by an order of the Manitoba Minister of Education, acting on a recommendation of the MacFarlane Commission on Education and the School Divisions Boundaries Commission. It became responsible for all secondary education, grades 9 to 12, within the area of the following school districts:


School Districts


Headingley Consolidated School District No. 9


St. Charles School District No. 2071


Kirkfield Park School District No. 30


Brooklands School District No. 1440





Harold Albert Mouritsen (c1918-1969)

See also:

Events in Manitoba History: School Divisions (1959)

Events in Manitoba History: Manitoba’s Rural School Consolidation (1905-1967)

Events in Manitoba History: School Divisions Boundaries Commission (1958-1959)

Events in Manitoba History: MacFarlane Royal Commission on Education (1957-1959)


Report of the School Divisions Boundaries Commission, 13 January 1959, Manitoba Legislative Library, SpR 1958 Education.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Profile revised: 10 October 2013

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.