Historic Sites of Manitoba: Kirkwood School No. 654 (Municipality of Deloraine-Winchester)

The Kirkwood School District was formally established in May 1891 but students attended Thirlstane School for two years, until a school building was built. The first Kirkwood School was built on an acre of land on the northeast quarter of 25-3-23 west of the Principal Meridian, in what is now the Municipality of Deloraine-Winchester. In the fall of 1921, the district was consolidated with Deloraine School No. 490. The consolidation lasted until September 1935 when, following heated discussions and legal fights, Kirkwood was reformed and classes were held in a private home.

A new school building was erected in 1938, at a cost of $2,500, on three acres of land on the northwest quarter of 30-3-22W. The school operated until 1949 when it closed due to low enrollment. It reopened in 1952 and operated until 1965 when it was again consolidated with Deloraine. The district was dissolved in January 1967 and the building was moved to Deloraine for use as a classroom. It was later made into an addition to the Deloraine public library.

Teachers at Kirkwood School during each of its three periods of operation included the following: (1893-1921): Mary Hawthorne, Fred Potter, Nellie Sutherland, Miss Semple, George Bremner, Mary Creighton, Mina Davidson, Bess Richards, Bessie Thomas, Mrs. Emma Thompson Kirkwood, Helen Dickson, Winnifred A. Potter, G. A. Mace, Ethel Johnston, Amy Graham, M. E. Alford, M. Mawhinney, E. N. Snelgrove, Miss E. Doughty, Miss M. Livingstone, Miss M. Leigh, Miss D. Aldis, and Thomas Greenway. (1935-1949): Ruth Howden, Florence McArter, Winnifred Potter, Miss C. B. Doughty, Miss M. Weidenhamer, Elaine Hean, Miss G. E. Martin, Marie De Casse, and Violet Pearen. (1952-1965): Maxine Bell, Mrs. Jill Combs, Helen McGill, Mary Menzel, Mrs. Helen Church, and Jean Fengler.

Kirkwood School commemorative monument

Kirkwood School commemorative monument (May 2020)
Source: Elaine Morrison

Kirkwood School commemorative monument

Kirkwood School commemorative monument (October 2021)
Source: Kathryn Hyndman

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.24565, W100.44183
denoted by symbol on the map above


Cummin’s Rural Directory Map for Manitoba published by the Cummins Map Company, 404 Chambers of Commerce, Winnipeg, 1923. [Copies held by Edward M. Ledohowski and Gordon Goldsborough]

“Consolidated school district dissolved,” Winnipeg Free Press, 17 September 1935, page 9.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Deloraine Scans a Century: 1880-1980 by Deloraine History Book Committee, 1980, pages 141-142.

We thank Howard Griffith, Elaine Morrison, David Ford, Kathryn Hyndman, and Lynn Silver for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 1 July 2023

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!