Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Coulter School No. 1772 (Coulter, Municipality of Two Borders)

The Coulter School District was established in February 1915 and a one-room schoolhouse built in 1915 by contractor Robert Nicholas Wyatt operated in Coulter in what is now the Municipality of Two Borders. Until 1950, the building was located at 2-2-27W then until 1957 at 31-1-27W across the road. In 1958, the district was dissolved and its area became part of the Waskada Consolidated School District. In July 2000, a commemorative monument was erected at the second school site.

Among the teachers of Coulter School were M. Wood Stewart (1915), Ida M. Burnett Burns (1916), Mary E. Coppinger (1917), Flora McGregor Andrews (1918), Miss Eleanor McGregor (1919), W. Burton Renton (1919), A. M. Rankin (1919), Stella Hill (1920), Jeanette Cox (1920), Jessie Skelton Jellis (1921), Mary Hawkins (1922), J. Bruce Day (1923), Coral Lynn Miller (1923), Miss Robinson (1924), Carrie Mott Atkinson (1925-1926), Evelyn Lyle McKague (1927), Merna Greig Jellis (1928-1929), Margaret Otto Gould (1930-1931), Esther Caldwell Johnson (1932-1935), Doreen Blaker Cutforth (1936-1937), L. Singleton (1938), G. Barnes Patmore (1939-1940), Dorothy Rin (1941), Georgina Hill (1941), Winie Coates Peterson (1941-1945), Eza Waiser (1946-1947), Verona McKinley (1948), Olive Bird (1949), Gordon George Phillips (1950-1951), Wilma Fraser Andrews (1951), Hazel McClintock Andrew (1952-1953), Olga Wingerak Zimmerman (1954), Mrs. Marjory Penny (1955), Mrs. Margaret Schreder (1956), Diana Aiken (1956), Thomas Masyluk (1956), and Mrs. Gisi (1957).

Coulter School

Coulter School (no date) by George Hunter
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-3, page 32.

Coulter School commemorative monument

Coulter School commemorative monument (July 2016)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.08795, W100.98427
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Memorable Manitobans: Robert Nicholas Wyatt (1877-1954)


Waskada West topographic map, 62F/02 West, Edition 1, Series A743 [Archives of Manitoba].

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Our First Century, Town of Melita and Municipality of Arthur: 1884-1984 by Melita-Arthur History Committee, 1983, pages 235-236.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 25 June 2023

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.