Historic Sites of Manitoba: Coates School No. 1091 (Municipality of Two Borders)

The Coates School District was organized formally in August 1900 and a one-room schoolhouse built in 1901 by contractor Robert Nicholas Wyatt operated in the southwest corner of SE25-4-28W in what is now the Municipality of Two Borders. The school closed in 1934 due to low enrolment. The district was dissolved in 1956 and its catchment area became part of the Edward Municipal School District.

Among the teachers of Coates School were M. Semple (1901), A. W. Farrow (1901), Annie B. McGregor (1901), Mr. Wellwood (1902), Olive May Shewmon (1903), Mr. Burns (1903), Miss Livingstone (1903), Grace Cassils House (1904), Miss Helga Bardal (1904), Sarah L. Hill (1905), Edith Sterling (1906-1909), Gertie Turner (1910), Helen Anderson Harmon (1911), M. Hagerman (1911), Agnes Forsythe Erickson (1911), Charlotte Perin (1911), Agnes Forsythe (1912), Alice M. Bissett (1913), Lillian Riddell (1914), Marge Bray (1916-1917), Olive Henderson (1918-1920), Pearl Brown Milne (1920-1922), Bertha Woods Lewis (1924), Hope Littlewood Wilmot (1926-1927), Anne Forbes (1928), Eva Reynolds Grierson (1929), Edna M. Eldred (1930), Margaret Gilchrist Braaksma (1931-1933), and Marg Anderson (1934).

Coates School

Coates School (no date) by George Hunter
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-2, page 56.

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.32616, W101.13196
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Memorable Manitobans: Robert Nicholas Wyatt (1877-1954)


School District Formation Files [Coates School District No. 1091], GR1688, E0027, Archives of Manitoba.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Our First Century, Town of Melita and Municipality of Arthur: 1884-1984 by Melita-Arthur History Committee, 1983, page 234-235.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 25 June 2023

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!