Historic Sites of Manitoba: Bidford School No. 456 (Municipality of Deloraine-Winchester)

The Bidford School District was established in July 1885, named for a town in England from which a local settler had come. A first schoolhouse, a small one-room frame structure, operated at NW16-4-22W in what is now the Municipality of Deloraine-Winchester. In the early 1890s, the school was moved to the northeast corner of SE16-4-22W and it was enlarged in 1901. Seven years later, through the efforts of Education Minister R. S. Thornton, a one-room schoolhouse made of red bricks with a full basement was constructed one-half mile south, on a four-acre grounds in the southeast corner of SE16-4-22W. Between 1922 and 1925, the basement was used for high school classes. Closed in 1964, the district was dissolved two years later and its catchment area became part of the Deloraine Consolidated School District and later the Antler River School Division. The building was sold at auction on 13 April 1966 and is no longer present at the site. A commemorative monument was dedicated at a ceremony on 15 July 2000 attended by over 100 people.

Among the teachers of Bidford School were F. J. Cornell, Miss Bella Wightman, Sam York, Minnie Manson, Miss Rombough, Miss Thompson, Miss Brethour, Mrs. Hagerman, Grace Cassils, Alice Brown, Della Keppin, J. C. Lawson, John Little, Vincent Irvine, John Peckover, Nellie Holden, Jean Cavers, Iris Cavers, Violet E. Mattalall (Jan - Jun 1915), W. Markle Peckover (Aug - Dec 1915), Gertrude Hurton (1916-1917), Mae McKinney (1918-1919), Estelle Spence (1920), Mollie B. Nixon (1921-1923), Carrie Bailey (Jan - May 1924), Gladys Sexton (May - Jun 1925), Beatrice Graham (1925), Jean McLeod (1925-1926), Fred W. Balfour (1927-1928), Alice Linklater (1929), Mabel J. Price (1930-1932), Stephen (Bernard) Wigby (1933-1937), Mary (Aline) Harvey (1938-1940), (Agnes) Bernice McDermot (1941-1942), Dorothy (Lois) McMillan (1943), (Marion Evelyn) Jean Blair (1944), Jean (Isabel) Wheatly (1945), Elva Johnson (1946), Kerry Kemp Lyons (1946), Tina Froese (1946-1947), Muriel Enid (Wilson) Mankey (1948), Winnifred Brown (1949-1950), Alma Margaret Holden (1951-1952), Edna (Marjorie) Wintle (1953-1955), Marlene (Helen) Dale (1956), Florence (Iona) Kowaluk (1957-1958), Elizabeth (Betty) Kingdon (1959), Gail Poole (1960), Joan Neumann (1961), Iris Marcella Yawney (1962), Joanne Hodgson (1963), Selena M. Christianson (1963), and Marjorie Claeys (1964).

The first Bidford School

The first Bidford School (no date)
Source: Elgin Museum

Bidford School, constructed in 1918

Bidford School, constructed in 1918 (no date) by George Hunter
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 62.

Bidford School commemorative monument

Bidford School commemorative monument (May 2020)
Source: Elaine Morrison

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.29680, W100.37576
denoted by symbol on the map above


Our Heritage by Regent Women’s Institute, c1967, pages 29-31. [Manitoba Legislative Library, F5649.R44 Reg]

Elgin West topographic map, 62F/08 West, Edition 1, Series A743 [Archives of Manitoba].

Deloraine Scans a Century by Deloraine History Book Committee, 1980, pages 124-125.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Obituary [Tina Dyck], Wiebe Funeral Homes Ltd.

We thank Elaine Morrison, Janice McClelland, Barry More, the Elgin Museum, and Phil & Vera Froese for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 5 June 2024

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!