Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Arran School No. 1960 (RM of Hanover)

Link to:
Principals | Vice-Principals | Teachers | Photos & Coordinates | Sources

The Arran School District was established formally in April 1919 and a one-room schoolhouse operated at NW25-7-4E in the Rural Municipality of Hanover, in what was formerly the Mennonite East Reserve. In 1949, the original building was replaced by a two-classroom structure that featured a full basement. A modern oil furnace and washrooms were added in 1963, along with a water fountain on the main floor. In January 1968, the district was dissolved and its area became part of the Hanover School Division. The school closed and the students were bused to New Bothwell or Niverville. The site and buildings, including a teacherage, were sold for $4,000. In 2013, a commemorative sign was erected at the site by the EastMenn Historical Society.





Anna Klassen


Helen Goertzen


Irmgard “Irma” Dueck


John D. Stoesz


Peter D. Matthies


Susan Agnes Wiens


Martha Marie Rempel


Richard Loeppky


Henry Warkentin


Abe Toews


Katie Helen Wiebe


Abe Toews





Annie Isaac (grades 1-3), Anna Klassen (grades 4-9)


Anna Klassen (grades 5-10), Katie Peters (grades 1-4)


Helen Goertzen (grades 5-7), Katie Peters (grades 1-4)


Helen Goertzen (grades 5-8), Katie Peters (grades 1-4)


Irmgard “Irma” Dueck (grades 4-8), Katie Peters (grades 1-4)


Irmgard “Irma” Dueck (grades 1-3), John D. Stoesz (grades 4-8)


Irmgard “Irma” Dueck (grades 1-4), John D. Stoesz (grades 5-8)


Aldina Brandt (grades 1-4), John D. Stoesz (grades 5-9)


Aldina Brandt (grades 1-4), John D. Stoesz (grades 5-10)


Aldina Brandt (grades 1-4), John D. Stoesz (grades 5-8)


Peter D. Matthies (grades 5-9), Tiena Victoria Warkentin (grades 1-4)


Tiena Victoria Warkentin (grades 1-4), Susan Agnes Wiens (grades 5-8)


Tiena Victoria Warkentin (grades 1-4), Susan Agnes Wiens (grades 5-8)


Annie Alice Dyck (grades 1-4), Martha Marie Rempel (grades 5-8)


Lydia Lorraine Loeppky (grades 1-4), Richard Loeppky (grades 5-8)


Lydia Lorraine Loeppky Falk (grades 1-4), Henry Warkentin (grades 5-8)


Helen Thiessen (grades 1-4), Henry Warkentin (grades 5-8)


Mary Kornelson (grades 1-4), Abe Toews (grades 5-8)


K. H. W. Giesbrescht (grades 1-4, 1968), Anna Marie Reimer (grades 1-4, 1967), Abe Toews (grades 5-8, 1968), Katie Helen Wiebe (grades 5-8, 1967)

Among the other teachers of Arran School were Oscar Andrew Wurster (1919-1920), John S. Guenther (1920-1921), Eva P. Toews (1921-1922), Lena Eidse (1922-1923), Jacob P. Rempel (1923-1924), J. H. K. Dyck (1924-1926), Andrew Reiger Sobering (1926-1927, 1943-1946), N. J. “Nick” Martens (1927-1928), Agathe Wilhelmina Dyck (1928-1929, 1930-1936), Esther M. Hiebert (1929-1930), Nettie J. Siemens (1936-1943), Peter George Kehler (1946-1948), and Anna Klassen (1948-1949).

Photos & Coordinates

Arran School

Arran School (no date) by A. A. Herriot
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-3, page 68.

The two-classroom Arran School, built in 1949

The two-classroom Arran School, built in 1949 (no date)
Source: Archives of Manitoba, Manitoba School Records Collection, GR2656, Hanover School Division Collection #3, Series 2 - Arran School District #1960.

Arran School commemorative sign

Arran School commemorative sign (July 2019)
Source: Rose Kuzina

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.59896, W96.93455
denoted by symbol on the map above


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Schools - Our Heritage: From 46 School Districts to Hanover Unitary School Division (1878-1968) by John K. Schellenberg, The Board of The Hanover School Division No. 15, May 1985, ISBN 0-919673-93-7.

Manitoba School Records Collection, Arran School District No. 1960 - Minute Books, GR2656, Archives of Manitoba.

Manitoba School Records Collection, Arran School District No. 1960 - Cash Books, GR2656, Archives of Manitoba.

Manitoba School Records Collection, Arran School District No. 1960 - Miscellaneous Records [Census Returns], GR2656, Archives of Manitoba.

Manitoba School Records Collection, Arran School District No. 1960 - Daily Registers, GR2656, Archives of Manitoba.

We thank Glen Klassen, Ernest Braun, Henry Esau, and Rose Kuzina for providing information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough and Nathan Kramer.

Page revised: 4 February 2023

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.