Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Manitoba Organization: St. Vital School Division No. 6

The St. Vital School Division was created on 1 April 1959 by an order of the Manitoba Minister of Education, acting on a recommendation of the MacFarlane Commission on Education and the School Divisions Boundaries Commission. It became responsible for all secondary education, grades 9 to 12, within the area of the following school districts:

School Districts

Glenlawn School District No. 1499
Lavallee School District No. 1538
Mountbatten School District No. 2308
Campeau School District No. 971
St. Germain School District No. 969





Victor Henry Llewellyn Wyatt (1913-1993)


Gordon Newton

See also:

Events in Manitoba History: School Divisions (1959)

Events in Manitoba History: Manitoba’s Rural School Consolidation (1905-1967)

Events in Manitoba History: School Divisions Boundaries Commission (1958-1959)

Events in Manitoba History: MacFarlane Royal Commission on Education (1957-1959)


Report of the School Divisions Boundaries Commission, 13 January 1959, Manitoba Legislative Library, SpR 1958 Education.

“St. Vital legend remembered for ‘profound dedication,’” Winnipeg Free Press, 6 December 1993, page A10.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 9 July 2015

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.