Events in Manitoba History: Commission on Status and Salaries of Teachers (1919)

Established by Order-in-Council, the Manitoba goverment created the Commission on Status and Salaries of Teachers to address concerns and resolutions brought forward in February 1919 by the Manitoba School Trustees Association and in April 1919 by the Manitoba Educational Association.

The Commission was lead by Alfred Edward Hill as Chairman with Percy Dewart Harris of Winnipeg as Secretary. The others Commissioners appointed were Henry Nesbitt “Harry” MacNeill of Dauphin, Samuel Henry Forrest of Souris, Thomas Addison Neelin of Miniota, and Mary Matilda Dawson of Crystal City. James Allison Glen joined the Commission during the process. Its report, released later that same year, gave recommendations on the topics of:


Records of the Commission on Status and Salaries of Teachers (A 0064), Submissions, Correspondence, and Resolutions, GR2132, Archives of Manitoba.

Orders-In-Council (EC 0003B), Order-in-Council #32214, GR1530, Archives of Manitoba.

Board of Reference files (E 0033), GR7825, Archives of Manitoba.

Manitoba Commission on Status and Salaries of Teachers - Report, 1919. [Legislative Library Manitoba SpR 1919 TeachersSal c.1]

“Commission to enquire into pay of teachers,” Manitoba Free Press, 26 September 1919, page 2.

“Teachers' Commission meets,” Manitoba Free Press, 4 October 1919, page 7.

“Commission to investigation status of teaching profession,” Dauphin Herald and Press, 16 October 1919, page 1.

“Probing salaries of teachers at Brandon,” Manitoba Free Press, 18 October 1919, page 45.

“Official trustee and status of teachers,” Manitoba Free Press, 12 November 1919, page 13.

“Teachers' Commission suggests $950 and $1,050 minimum wages,” Winnipeg Tribune, 16 February 1920, pages 1 & 3.

Error processing SSI file

Page revised: 11 September 2022