Historic Sites of Manitoba: Regent Park School / École Regent Park (411 Moroz Street, Winnipeg)
Built in 1959 by the Transcona School District, the elementary school was based on designs of the Winnipeg architectural firm of Ward and Macdonald. It was officially opened on 12 February 1960 by School Trustee Harold Coveney Hatcher and School Board Chairman Arthur Henry Day. Its capacity was increased in 1962 as part of a $330,000 district expansion program, adding ten classrooms. Renovations in 1988 were designed by the architectural firm of Magnus Johnson Architects.
The school, known today as École Regent Park, converted to a French Immersion program for the start of the 1989-1990 school year in the Transcona-Springfield School Division.
Among the teachers of Regent Park School was Kenneth Stewart “Ken” Zeilig (three years, early 1960s).
Photos & Coordinates
“New school bylaw for Transcona?,” Winnipeg Free Press, 19 January 1959, page 6.
“Transcona opens Regent Park School,” Winnipeg Free Press, 15 February 1960, page 7.
“School trustee polling schedule for Oct. 25,” Winnipeg Free Press, 2 October 1961, page 5.
“Suburban ratepayers approve 4 bylaws,” Winnipeg Free Press, 26 October 1961, page 9.
From Slate to Computer in the Transcona-Springfield Area 1873-1983 by Nan Shipley, 1983, page 350.
“Invitation to tender,” Winnipeg Free Press, 4 June 1988, page 103.
“Division expects more students this year,” Winnipeg Free Press Weekly Northeast, 28 August 1988, page 7.
“Students scold Exxon over oil spill,” Winnipeg Free Press Weekly Northeast, 14 May 1989, page 8.
“‘Transcona to Mission Control...’,” Winnipeg Free Press Weekly North, 2 June 1992, page 8.
“Jobs build self-esteem, connection to community,” Winnipeg Free Press Community Review North/Northeast, 17 February 1999, page 3.
We thank Matthew Hodgins for providing additional information used here.
This page was prepared by Nathan Kramer.
Page revised: 22 November 2022