Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Peguis School No. 1426 (RM of St. Andrews)

The Peguis School District was established in June 1907 and a one-room schoolhouse operated on Lot 86 in the Parish of St. Peter, in the Rural Municipality of St. Andrews. With growing student enrollment in the district, a second building was constructed in the southern part of the area, and named Margaret Hayworth School. The school closed in 1967 and the building was sold several times then eventually torn down.

Among the teachers who worked at Peguis School through the years were Mary I. Currie (1907-1908), Gwen Overton (1908), George Branigan (1909-1910), K. W. Smith (1909-1910), Frank A. Eagerly (1910-1912), Alex Cowan (1912-1920, 1921-1923), Anna Steele (1920-1921), Irene Spratt (1920-1921), H. G. Nordin (1923-1925), Ethel Neilson (1925-1926), M. Blight (1925-1927), H. Dalgren (1926-1927), Rose Shline (1927-1928), F. C. Saunders (1927-1928), B. Frank Privat (1928-1929), J. B. Peterkin (1929-1930),o D. Fyles (1930-1934), John E. Harriot (1934-1938), Miss Stone (1938-1939), I. Dawson (1939-1940), T. Oliver (1939-1940), Edna M. Allen (1939-1940), Gordon R. Fines (1940-1941), G. M. Woolsey (1941-1942), G. McKenzie (1941-1942), M. Barnett (1942-1944), Lorna Orvis (1944-1945), L. Reil (1944-1945), E. E. Reimer (1945-1946), Paul Sigurdson (1946-1947), V. M. McKay (1946-1947), M. D. Cathers (1947-1948), Miss Sawchuk (1948-1949), Anna McNally (1949-1950), J. Freison (1950-1951), Miss Boresky (1951-1952), Miss Brodie (1951-1952), Mrs. Wakeman (1951-1952), E. Evans (1952-1953), M. Milne (1952-1953), Miss E. McKay (1952-1953), P. G. Kehler (1952-1953), G. McKenzie (1953-1956), Mrs. Southern (1957), G. Wakeman (1957-1959), Miss A. Mizgiel (1959-1962), L. Dronzek (1962-1964), Leonard Dueck (1964-1966), and Ian Barron (1966-1967).

Peguis School

Peguis School (no date) by H. D. Cumming
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-2, page 115.

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N50.21833, W96.83620
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Margaret Hayworth School No. 1426 (RM of St. Andrews)


Cummin’s Rural Directory Map for Manitoba published by the Cummins Map Company, 404 Chambers of Commerce, Winnipeg, 1923. [Copies held by Edward M. Ledohowski and Gordon Goldsborough]

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Beyond the Gates of Lower Fort Gary 1880-1981 - R.M. of St. Andrews by the Municipality of St. Andrews, 1982.

We thank Nathan Kramer for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 1 April 2021

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.