Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 141 years


Pay & Donate in the MHS Online Shop

Endangered Top 10
LG History

Fundraising Dinner 2020

Endangered Top 10
Top 10

Jens Munk at Churchill
Field Trip:

Manitoba History No. 90

No. 90

Memorable Manitobans of 2019
of 2019

War Memorials in Manitoba
in Manitoba

This Old Elevator
This Old

Abandoned Manitoba

Memorable Manitobans

Historic Sites of Manitoba
Historic Sites
of Manitoba

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Mount Calm School No. 772 (Municipality of Harrison Park)

The Mount Calm School District was formally established in April 1893 and a school building was erected the next year on this site in the Municipality of Harrison Park. It operated until December 1958 when it closed and remaining students went either to Newdale Consolidated School No. 431 or Sandy Lake Consolidated School No. 2370. A monument at the former school site is dedicated to its pioneers, pupils and teachers.

The teachers of Mount Calm School were E. B. Fisher (1894-1895), Jessie Sharpe (1896), R. D. Adams (1897), Ernest Walkey (1898-1899), Evangeline Baily (1900), James Wilkie (1901), George Belton (1901), Ernest Ingersoll (1902), Lydia Carrothers (1903-1904), Eva Grant (1905-1906), Lena E. Rae (1906, 1907), George Campbell (1907), M. E. Armstrong (1907), Eleanora Short (1907-1908), Sadie I. Fraser (1909-1910), Hattie E. Albright (1911-1912, 1913-1914), Lucy Metcalfe (1912), Emma Whitmore (1912), Margaret D. Hopper (1914), Josephine A. Spencer (1914), Hazel O. Lee (1915), Margaret G. Carmichael (1916), Ellen “Ella” Martin (1917-1918), Edith I. Steward (1918), Helen Muir (1919), Bessie Comrie (1919-1921), Maude Sage (1921-1923), S. V. Worthington (1923-1925), Janet S. Stewart (1926-1927), Helen J. Andrews (1928), Margaret English (1928-1929), Margaret Emma “Mary” Graham (1929), Mary Eva Hopkins (1930), Gilbert John Harris (1930-1933), Edna L. Gallop (1933-1934), Hannah Winnifred “Winnie” Richmond (1934-1935), Myfanwy Alice Jones (1935-1937), Eileen Jean Simmie (1937-1938), Blanche Elizabeth Rockley (1938-1939), Mr. A. W. Lewarton (1939), Mrs. Allan Brown (1939), Laura Emily Wood (1940-1941), Isabelle Marcelline Howelko (1941-1942), Irene M. Goldie (1942-1943), Vivian E. Smith (1943), Elias A. J. Shewchuk (1943-1944), Leona A. Marks (1944-1945), Adolph M. Kotyk (1945-1946), Cassie K. Misanchuk (1946-1947), Edward Paulsen Misanchuk (1947-1949), Elizabeth Susan “Bessie” Vatcher (1949-1950), Anne Senkow (1950-1951), Hilda Isabel White (1951-1952), Ann Marie Michalyshyn [Michalison] (1952-1953), Paul Kuch (1953-1954), Ernie Nawalkowsky (1954-1955), Nick Kristalovich (1955-1956), Carol E. Sundmark (1956), Maria M. Michalchuk (1957), William Babuik (1957), E. Misanchuk (1957), and Victor Chorneyko (1958).

Mount Calm School

Mount Calm School monument (August 2011)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Location (lat/long): N50.43288, W100.16170
denoted by symbol on the map above


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

A History of Sandy Lake and District, 1984. [Manitoba Legislative Library, F5649.S32 His]

Manitoba School Records Collection, Mount Calm School District No. 772 Daily Registers, GR2063, Archives of Manitoba.

We thank Nathan Kramer for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 21 August 2017

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Search Tips | Suggest a Site | FAQ | Acknowledgements

Send inquiries to the MHS Webmaster.

Back to top of page


To report an error on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations Policy

© 1998-2020 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.