Historic Sites of Manitoba: Lakeside School No. 225 (Municipality of WestLake-Gladstone)

The Lakeside School District was organized formally in 1883 and a one-room schoolhouse operated at SE9-15-9W in what is now the Municipality of WestLake-Gladstone. The district was dissolved in 1968 and its catchment area became part of the Pine Creek School Division.

Among the teachers of Lakeside School were Anna Caddoo (1906-1907), John A. MacDougall (1908), Howard R. Haines (1908), Miss A. Boler (1908-1909, 1914), Clara L. Finlay (1909), M. B. Forster (1909), Ellen Jickling (1910), Hazel Stewart (1912), Asta Austmann (1912), Ingribjorg Thorsteinson (1912-1913), Lorinda M. Gutzke (1914), Eva A. Ferguson (1915), Mary A. V. Hyndman (1916), M. A. Currie (1916), Mildred Louisa Merrick (1917, 1921-1922), Catherine McNevin (1919), E. B. Wild (1920), Leona Duncan (1920), Bessie F. Folton (1922-1923), G. M. Holmes (1923-1925), Janet Lees (1925-1926), Annie Reid McCormick (1926-1927), Margaret Isabella Moffatt (1927-1932), Alice T. Roblin (1932-1934), Dorothy Ida Bailey (1934-1935), Iris Eleanor Jackson (1935-1936), Hilda Mary Granger (1936-1938), Thelma Olive Eyjolfson (1938-1941), Kathleen Mary Ritchley (1941-1942), Marianne Ethel Dorothy Archer (1946-1947), Minnie Ruby Antoniuk (1947-1948), Olga Berezowecki Greening (1948-1950), Doreen Reddick (1950-1951), Viola Kristine Sigurdson (1951-1953), Miss Margaret Ellen Coulthard (1953-1954), Beryl Joyce Raincock (1954-1955), Coray Edith Carlson (1955-1956), Elizabeth Alexandra Chastko (1956-1958), Roberta E. Barton (1958-1959), Mrs. Art Johnson (1959-1960), Barbara Anne Jackson (1960-1962), Doris Sigurdson (1962-1964), Barbara Ann Craik (1964-1965), and Iona Ann Aileen Lasson (1965-1967).

Lakeside School

Lakeside School (no date) by C. K. Rogers
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 79.

The remodelled Lakeside School building

The remodelled Lakeside School building (no date) by C. K. Rogers
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 79.

Lakeside School commemorative monument

Lakeside School commemorative monument (March 2016)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N50.25511, W98.63828
denoted by symbol on the map above


“Langruth news,” Portage la Prairie Leader, 3 September 1953, page 11.

School District Formation Files [Lakeside School District No. 225], GR1688, E0027, Archives of Manitoba.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Manitoba School Records Collection, Lakeside School District No. 225 Daily Registers, GR3152, Archives of Manitoba.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough and Nathan Kramer.

Page revised: 17 December 2019

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at webmaster@mhs.mb.ca.

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!