Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Haffner House (71 West Gate, Winnipeg)

Link to:
Occupants | Photos & Maps | Sources

This two-storey brick structure on West Gate in the Armstrong’s Point area of Winnipeg was designed by local architects Lewis H. Jordan and Walter Percy Over, and built in 1914 by Claydon Brothers for Ernest Forster Haffner.





Ernest Forster Haffner (1876-1942)


Flossie McEachern Haffner (1881-1971)


Alex B. Starikoff


Walter J. R. Wilson


Peter and Mary Reeve


Richard Wiese


David Orlikow (1918-1998)


John and Louise Clark

Photos & Coordinates

Haffner House

Haffner House (April 2017)
Source: George Penner

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.87727, W97.15790
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Memorable Manitobans: Walter Percy Over (1874-1944)

Manitoba Business: Claydon Brothers Construction Company / Claydon Construction Limited


Armstrong's Point: A History by Randy R. Rostecki, Winnipeg: Heritage Winnipeg Corporation, 2009.

This page was prepared by George Penner and Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 20 May 2022

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.