Butterfield



Butterfield

Until recently, on section 36-1-29, one could still see the remains of an old sod building by the old rutted trail made by Indians and pioneers. This old sod building was built by Dr. Dann, a veterinarian, and in this building, was established the first post office in this area called Butterfield.

It was kept by Henry Dann from 1884-1889 when it was taken over by C. P. Wilcox until 1892. Then, Andrew Maitland kept it until its closure in 1904. Dr. Dann later moved to Deloraine.

Butterfield then received its mail by stage from a point about 25 miles west. Mail came to this point by stage from either Moosomin or Whitewood on the main CPR line, serving other post offices along the way, as was then the custom.

 


This map prepared in 1884 shows the region’s Mail Routes. Notice Melita and Pierson are not on the map. Time change.

More on the Two Borders Heritage Website...




Maps Plus (See the context...)

Heritage Site Maps...