Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Heather D. Stefanson

Click to enlarge

Heather Stefanson
Click to enlarge

MLA (2000-2003), MLA (2003-2007), MLA (2007-2011), MLA (2011-2016), MLA (2016-2019), MLA (2019-2023), Premier of Manitoba (2021-2023), MLA (2023-?).

Born at Winnipeg on 11 May 1970, she was elected at a provincial by-election on 21 November 2000, she was re-elected at the 2003, 2007, 2011, 2016, and 2019 general elections. She held the ministerial portfolios of Justice and Attorney General (2016-2018), Deputy Premier (2016-2021), Families (2018-2021), Health and Senior Care (2021), and Intergovernmental Affairs and International Relations (2021-?). On 2 November 2021, she became the first female Premier of Manitoba following a majority vote of the Progressive Conservative caucus. In recognition of her community service, she received a Queen Elizabeth II Golden Jubilee Medal (2002). After a defeat in the 2023 general election, she stepped down as leader of the Progressive Conservative party.


MLA Biographies - Living, Legislative Assembly of Manitoba.

We thank the Legislative Assembly of Manitoba and Tracey Goncalves for providing a photograph used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 3 October 2023

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.