Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Springbrook School No. 566 (Municipality of North Norfolk)

The Springbrook School District was established formally in February 1889, with a school opened in September 1890, on NE4-12-11W in the Rural Municipality of North Norfolk. It was replaced by a new frame building at this site, NW4-12-11W, in 1910. It served as an educational and social centre for the community until 1964 when it was closed due to consolidation with Austin School. A monument, dedicated at a ceremony on 30 June 1990, commemorates the students, teachers, and pioneers of the Springbrook community.

The teachers who worked at Springbrook School included: R. E. Risk (1894), I. A. Broadfoot (1895-1896), L. Berry (1896), George W. Rogers (1897-1899), Herbert S. Sharpe (1900-1901), Ellathea McDonald (1901), Minnie McMaster (1905-1907), Adelaide Noow (1908), Gertrude M. Moow (1909), Edith P. Lorne (1909), Ivy M. McLean (1910-1911), Clara E. Poyser (1912-1913), K. A. Johnson (1912), Jane V. Arthur (1914-1916), H. I. Armstrong (1916), G. E. Harris (1916-1917), M. M. Dunton (1918), Margaret G. McMillan (1918-1919), Matilda E. DeSautel (1919), Clare Lillie (1920), Clarrie E. Morrison (1920-1921), Lula Barkley (1921-1922), Elta L. Kennedy (1922-1923), Leila Stephenson (1923-1924), Mary I. Morris (1924-1926), Hazel E. Beckerville (1926-1927), Ruby Marian Douglas (1927-1928), Natalie Haekers (1928-1929), Mary Grace Barbour (1929), Edna Jefferson (1929-1932), Audrey Marion Poyser (1932-1937), Sally Winnifred Williams (1937-1939), Evelyn K. Cruikshank (1939-1942), Wilma Muriel Morris (1942-1943), Mary Lucille Duncan (1943-1945), Constance Muriel Chant (1945-1946), Frances M. Nelson (1946-1947), Mervyn Farough (1947-1948), Frances Y. Pascoe (1948-1951), Audrey M. Donald (1949-1950), Lena Donachuck (1951-1952), Marjorie M. Cole (1952-1953), Irene Alderson (1953), O. A. Lamb BA (1953-1955), Mintie Reimer (1954-1955), Verna Clarke (1955), Bernard P. Molinski (1955-1957), Keith Worden (1957-1958), Mrs. Florence A. Evenson (1958-1961), Eva Giesbrecht (1961-1963), Doris Atkinson (1963).

Springbrook School commemorative monument

Springbrook School commemorative monument (September 2010)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N49.98970, W98.92683
denoted by symbol on the map above


A Rear View Mirror: A History of the Austin and Surrounding Districts by Anne M. Collier, Altona: Friesen Printing, 1967.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Through Fields and Dreams: A History of the Rural Municipality of North Norfolk and MacGregor by The History Book Committee of the North Norfolk-MacGregor Archives, 1998, page 1176.

We thank Nathan Kramer for providing additional information used here.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 3 June 2022

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.