Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 140 years


Pay & Donate in the MHS Online Shop

Endangered Top 10
Top 10

Jens Munk at Churchill
Field Trip:

Manitoba History No. 89

No. 89

War Memorials in Manitoba
in Manitoba

This Old Elevator
This Old

Abandoned Manitoba

Memorable Manitobans

Historic Sites of Manitoba
Historic Sites
of Manitoba

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Sight Hill School No. 563 (RM of North Norfolk)

Sight Hill School District was formally established in December 1888, in the Rural Municipality of North Norfolk. The first one-room frame school building was erected in 1890, in the southeast quarter of 4-11-1 west of the Principal Meridian, on land donated by farmer James Leckie, who also named the school. Replaced in 1954 with another one-room frame structure, it served as a site for meetings, recreational activities, and community picnics. The school closed in June 1968 and the district was merged into Pine Creek School Division. This cairn was dedicated at a ceremony on 30 June 1991.

The teachers who worked at Sight Hill School included: Mary E. Allen (1894), Nellie Collier (1895), M. L. Pickering (1896), A. E. Moore (1897), Alexander Irvine (1898), James Elston (1898-1901), May Collier (1905-1907), Arabella Maxwell (1906), Daisy B. Tingley (1908), Gertrude Campbell (1908-1909), John J. Murphy (1910), Matilda E. Armstrong (1901-1911), Bertha Collier (1911-1913), Irene O. Morris (1913-1914), Mildred Olga Boddy (1915-1917), Letitia C. Gair (1917), Edith Gair (1918), Mildred Merrick (1918-1919), Isabel McGregor (1919), Eleanor Nichols (1919-1921), Florence McKellop (1921-1923), Gertrude A. Crowe (1923), Annie F. McKillop (1924-1925), Mary C. Campbell (1925-1926), Mary I. Morris (1926-1928), Kathleen M. Robinson (1928-1930), Margaret E. McKinnon (1930-1931), Dorothy Elizabeth Hunter (1931-1934), Margaret F. Donald (1934-1936), Barbara Iris Campbell (1936-1940), Irene Elizabeth Brown (1940-1942), Claire Margaret Allison (1942-1943), Della Gwendolyn Billings (1943-1944), M. Myrtle Dennison (1944-1945), Ruth May Lewarne (1945-1946), Grace E. Pattinson (1946-1947), A. Sametz (1948), Florence L. Sims (1948-1949), Isobel Lepesko (1949-1950), Ruth Zertsee (1950), Ritz J. Zertner (1951), Inez E. Bray (1951-1952), Colleen A. Johnston (1952-1953), Susan I. Godfrey (1953-1954), Shirley M. Anderson (1954-1955), Barbara V. Lamb (1955-1958), Myrtle H. Byram (1958-1961), Margaret L. Leland (1961-1963), Sharon G. Wilks (1963-1964), E. Diane Todd (1964).

Sight Hill School

Sight Hill School Cairn (2010)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Location (lat/long): N49.88686, W98.90407
denoted by symbol on the map above


A Rear View Mirror: A History of the Austin and Surrounding Districts by Anne M. Collier, Altona: Friesen Printing, 1967.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Through Fields and Dreams: A History of the Rural Municipality of North Norfolk and MacGregor by The History Book Committee of the North Norfolk-MacGregor Archives, 1998, page 1165.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 13 June 2013

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Search Tips | Suggest a Site | FAQ | Acknowledgements

Send inquiries to the MHS Webmaster.

Back to top of page


To report an error on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations Policy

© 1998-2019 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.