Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 140 years


Pay & Donate in the MHS Online Shop

Endangered Top 10
Top 10

Young Historians 2019

Jens Munk at Churchill
Field Trip:

Manitoba History No. 89

No. 89

War Memorials in Manitoba
in Manitoba

This Old Elevator
This Old

Abandoned Manitoba

Memorable Manitobans

Historic Sites of Manitoba
Historic Sites
of Manitoba

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Rob Roy School No. 1324 (RM of Portage la Prairie)

The Rob Roy School District was established in December 1904 and a one-room schoolhouse was constructed at SE16-13-7W in the Rural Municipality of Portage la Prairie. Initially heated by wood or coal, the furnace was replaced with an oil burner in 1950. A shelterbelt of trees around the building was planted in 1940 and electric lights were installed in 1949. The district was dissolved in 1967 and the land became part of the Portage la Prairie School Division. A commemorative monument stands at the former school site.

The teachers who worked at Rob Roy School through the years were Helen Lynch, Grace McArthur Radley (1907), Miss A. Dale (1907), Lena Rae (1907), Nan Morrow (1908), Margaret Sinclair (1909), James D. McCrae (1909), E. S. Everall (1911), Mary Jeffrey (1912), Anna Drysdale McMillan (1913, B. M. Harkness Scott (1914), Marjorie Madge (1914), Effie McKinnon (1915), Lila Kitson (1916), Jean McArthur Patterson (1917), Ella Roe Hall (1918), Isabel Dow Clark (1919), Eleanor Robinson Sutherland (1920), Margaret Bone Gordon (1921-1922), Grace Scott Stewart (1922), Jessie McGregor (1923-1924), Evelyn Foster Parsons (1925), Grace Scott (1927-1928), Esther Halstead Barker (1931-1932), Evelyn R. Russell Haas (1932-1934), Florence Adrian McMillan (1935), R. Evelyn Russell Hay (1936-1939), Dorothy McMillan Williams (1940-1942), Elizabeth Taylor Berry (1943), Doreen Tucker Frizzley (1944), Edith James Jordan (1945), George Froese (1945), Marjorie Arthur McIntyre (1946), Mary Niven (1947), Viola Ferris Painter (1947), Cecil Patterson (1948), Joyce Bullied Riddell (1949), Miss N. E. Wonitoway (1950), Verla Bell Bird (1951-1952), Gwen McIntosh (1953), Dorothy Winters (1953), Doris Hansley Morrow (1953-1955), E. M. Maloney Donald (1956-1957), Joan Robinson (1958), Rosalie Gudnason (1959), Edith Kingdon (1960), Carole Fletcher Anderson (1961), Carole Hamilton (1962), Reva Cairns Trochim (1963), and Miss Wieler (1964-1965).

Rob Roy School

Rob Roy School (no date) by A. B. Fallis
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-2, page 98.

Rob Roy School

Rob Roy School commemorative monument (April 2014)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Location (lat/long): N50.09354, W98.36148
denoted by symbol on the map above


Cummin’s Rural Directory Map for Manitoba published by the Cummins Map Company, 404 Chambers of Commerce, Winnipeg, 1923. [Copies held by Edward M. Ledohowski and Gordon Goldsborough]

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Rural Schools of Portage la Prairie School Division #24 by Muriel Wright, 1996.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 16 July 2016

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Search Tips | Suggest a Site | FAQ | Acknowledgements

Send inquiries to the MHS Webmaster.

Back to top of page


To report an error on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations Policy

© 1998-2019 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.