Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Portage Creek School No. 505 (RM of Portage la Prairie)

The Portage Creek School District was formally organized in April 1887 and occupied a schoolhouse built on the northeast corner of 17-13-6 west of the Principal Meridian in the Rural Municipality of Portage la Prairie. It closed in 1964 and the remaining students were bused to High Bluff Consolidated School No. 2418. The school district was formally dissolved in March 1967.

The teachers who worked at Longburn School through the years were Mary Oliver, Adelaide Muma, Lena McQueen, Margaret Baxter, Lena McQueen Cooke, Winifred Gilmore, Irene Bradley, Olive Thompson, Maude Bowman, Bessie Bray, Frederick Leopold Johnston, Allena MacGillivory, Dorcas Crake, Bertha Reid, Miss E. Gillbard, H. S. Doubleday, Ila MacDonald, Fannie Arnott, Frances Arnott, Violet Lefler, Emily Doak, Miss A. McLennan, Ellen J. Hill, Elsie Moggey, Lena Slade, Grace Shaw, Mrs. Maude Owens, Alexandra Jones, Lillian Blackwell, Joyce Heys, Gertie Cranston, Elsie Burton, Geraldine Thompson, Nellie Tate, Grace Wheatly, Peggy Butler, Mary Hunter, Sara Waschenfelder, Isabelle Dow, Rose Dubovsky, John Smolleck, Dorothy Thompson, Fern Banting, Lillian Kapetz, Lorraine Robinson, Marie Adams, Mrs. L. Beaudin, Jeanette Lacy, Mrs. B. Williamson, Doreen Baker, Mrs. R. K. Morrow, Edna Frame, Anne Porter, Jean Ferris, Mrs. Vernon Ferris, and Robert Hobbs.

Portage Creek School

Portage Creek School (no date) by A. B. Fallis
Source: Archives of Manitoba, School Inspectors Photographs,
GR8461, A0233, C131-1, page 76.

Portage Creek School commemorative monument

Portage Creek School commemorative monument (March 2010)
Source: Gordon Goldsborough

Site Coordinates (lat/long): N50.10765, W98.24020
denoted by symbol on the map above


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

Rural Schools of Portage la Prairie School Division #24 by Muriel Wright, 1996.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 9 August 2022

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society. The information is offered for historical interest only.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Inclusion in this collection does not confer special status or protection. Official heritage designation may only come from municipal, provincial, or federal governments. Some sites are on private property and permission to visit must be secured from the owner.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Send corrections and additions to this page
to the MHS Webmaster at

Search Tips | Suggest an Historic Site | FAQ

Help us keep history alive!

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.