Historic Sites of Manitoba: Campau School No. 1418 (RM of Lorne)
Known as Campeau School District when it was established around 1888, commemorating the first resident Roman Catholic priest of St. Alphonse Parish, Father Telesphore Campeau, as early as 1932 the Department of Education requested a name change to avoid confusion with Campeau School near Winnipeg. The change was made in 1954. A one-room schoolhouse operated at NE30-5-12W in the Rural Municipality of Lorne. It closed around 1959 and the area became part of St. Alphonse Consolidated School No. 2371. A monument at the site, dedicated in 1991, commemorates the school. The former schoolhouse still stands nearby at a private residence.
One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.
Tapestry of Faith: R. C. Parish of St. Alphonse, 1883-1983 by St. Alphonse Centennial History Book Committee, 1988, page 106.
We thank Normand Boisvert for providing additional information used here.
This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.
Page revised: 26 July 2015
Back to top of page