Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 141 years


Pay & Donate in the MHS Online Shop

Endangered Top 10
LG History

Fundraising Dinner 2020

Endangered Top 10
Top 10

Jens Munk at Churchill
Field Trip:

Manitoba History No. 90

No. 90

Memorable Manitobans of 2019
of 2019

War Memorials in Manitoba
in Manitoba

This Old Elevator
This Old

Abandoned Manitoba

Memorable Manitobans

Historic Sites of Manitoba
Historic Sites
of Manitoba

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Argyle School No. 122 (RM of Woodlands)

The Argyle School District was organized formally in March 1881 and a schoolhouse operated in the southeasterly corner of SE32-14-1W of the Principal Meridian in the Rural Municipality of Woodslands. Built in 1883, the first schoolhouse was a wooden frame building measuring 22 feet wide, 18 feet long, and 12 feet high. A replacement structure was erected around 1891, measuring 18 feet wide and 24 feet long. The district was consolidated with Brant School, Warren School, and Woodlands School in 1964 and the dissolved former school area became part of the Interlake School Division. In 1970, the school building was donated and relocated to the Woodlands Pioneer Museum.

Among the teachers who worked at Argyle School through the years were W. B. Cumming (1883), Lamb Connell (1902), Nellie Burrows (1906), Vera Glenn (1906), Mrs. James Rice (1906-1907), Mary F. Dutton (1908), Mabel Thomson (1908), H. L. Doubleday (1909), Mary J. McDonald (1909), Florence E. Long (1910), Miss M. M. Morrison (1910, substitute), A. Gregory (1910), Dorothy R. George (1911), Hazel Stewart (1911), Margaret Lemoine (1913), Lily M. Smith (1914), F. A. Jackson (1915), Myrtle Dunsmore (1916-1917), Mary Campbell (1919-1920), Mary Windsor (1920), Madeline L. Procter (1921), Miss L. D. Mallock (1921), Grace E. Shaw (1921), Magdalene T. Hill (1921-1922), Elva Lizabella Stewart (1922-1925), Margaret Susan “Susie” Nichol (1925-1926), Mildred B. Lelond (1925-1926), Natalie Haehns (1928), Kathleen Johnson (1928), Laura L. J. Holmes (1929), Florence M. Wilkinson (1930-1931), Lillian Rae Calderwood (1933-1937), Kathleen Ethel Bray (1937-1939), Jessie Edna May Reynolds (1939-1940), Aneita Gertrude Snyder (1940-1942), Ruth Trevillian Langrell (1953-1954), Eva Nichol (1954-1955), Gloria Trupp (1955-1956), Leola Johnston (1956-1956), and Isobel Findlay (1957-1964).

Site Location (lat/long): N50.22693, W97.55292
denoted by symbol on the map above

See also:

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Argyle School (Argyle Street, Winnipeg)


Manitoba School Records Collection, Argyle School District No. 122 Daily Registers, GR2088, Archives of Manitoba.

Departmentally appointed school trustee files (E 0034), Argyle School District No. 122 [- Miscellaneous], GR1629, Archives of Manitoba.

School Division Maps - The Interlake School Division No. 21, Archives of Manitoba.

One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

This page was prepared by Nathan Kramer.

Page revised: 27 September 2017

Historic Sites of Manitoba

This is a collection of historic sites in Manitoba compiled by the Manitoba Historical Society.

Browse lists of:
Museums/Archives | Buildings | Monuments | Cemeteries | Locations | Other

Please note that inclusion in this collection does not mean that a particular site has special status or protection. Some sites are on private property and permission must be secured from the owner prior to visiting.

Site information is provided by the Manitoba Historical Society as a free public service only for non-commercial purposes.

Search Tips | Suggest a Site | FAQ | Acknowledgements

Send inquiries to the MHS Webmaster.

Back to top of page


To report an error on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations Policy

© 1998-2020 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.