Manitoba Organization: Woodlea Municipal School District No. 1589

The Woodlea Municipal School District was formed in April 1936 by merging several smaller school districts operating within the Rural Municipality of Woodlea, as follows:

Agriculture School

Birch Lake School

Briton School

Buller School

Dog Lake School

Edison School

Larcombe School

Mortimer Davis School

New Hirsch School

Pioneer School

Shamrock School

Walter Scott School

Woolsery School

In 1967, the district became part of Lakeshore School Division.

See also:

Historic Sites of Manitoba: Woodlea School / Ingelow School No. 560 (RM of North Cypress)


One Hundred Years in the History of the Rural Schools of Manitoba: Their Formation, Reorganization and Dissolution (1871-1971) by Mary B. Perfect, MEd thesis, University of Manitoba, April 1978.

School District Formation Files [Woodlea Municipal School District No. 1589], GR1688, E0027, Archives of Manitoba.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 17 May 2015