Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 144 years

Manitoba Municipal Time Line

by Gordon Goldsborough
Winnipeg, Manitoba




The District of Assiniboia, a land parcel presenting an 80-kilometer radius around the Red River Settlement, is formed as a local administrative unit by the Hudsons Bay Company, under the control of a 15-member Council of Assiniboia.


Manitoba joins the Canadian Confederation as its fifth province.


Manitoba’s first municipalities -- Springfield & Sunnywide, Westbourne, and Winnipeg -- are incorporated under the terms of a new Municipal Act.


Manitoba is divided into a series of counties, subdivided further into municipalities, patterned on the system used in Ontario. Westbourne was the first such county. The complex system lasted only a few years and was discarded as being unworkable in a sparsely populated province like Manitoba.


Legislation enabling the incorporation of towns was passed. The first incorporated town was Emerson and, the next year, Portage la Prairie.


Eleven rural municipalities are incorporated: Lorne, Louise, Morris, Portage la Prairie, Rhineland, Rockwood, St. Andrews, St. Francois Xavier, Ste. Anne, Tache, Woodlands.


Ten rural municipalities are incorporated: Argyle, Gimli, Hanover, Turtle Mountain, La Broquerie, Macdonald, Montcalm, Russell, Shoal Lake, and St. Laurent.


Three urban municipalities are incorporated: Brandon, Selkirk, and Gladstone.


It was a busy year for municipal incorporations. Thirty-eight rural municipalities were born: Archie, Arthur, Birtle, Blanshard, Boulton, Brenda, Clanwilliam, Cornwallis, Daly, De Salaberry, Ellice, Elton, Franklin, Glenwood, Hamiota, Harrison, Lansdowne, Miniota, North Cypress, North Norfolk, South Cypress, South Norfolk, Oakland, Odanah, Pipestone, Riverside, Rosedale, Rossburn, Saskatchewan, Shell River, Sifton, Silver Creek, St. Clements, Strathclair, Wallace, Whitehead, Whitewater and Woodworth. As well, there were five new towns: Birtle, Minnedosa, Morris, Neepawa and Rapid City.


Seven new rural municipalities were incorporated: Dufferin, Langford, Morton, Pembina, Ritchot, Stanley and Winchester, along with the town of Virden.




Manitoba’s first parking meters were installed in Brandon, in August. They took in $6,700 in their first year of operation. Winnipeg followed suit in 1949 with 300 meters.



More information:

History in Manitoba Municipal Names

Association of Manitoba Municipalities

People of the Union of Manitoba Municipalities - Manitoba Association of Urban Municipalities - Association of Manitoba Municipalities

Page revised: 12 November 2008

MHS Features

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations

© 1998-2023 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.