Manitoba Historical Society
     Keeping history alive for over 141 years


MHS Centennial Organization: Parish Church of Saint Michael and All Angels

Saint Michael, circa 1913

St. Michael and All Angels Church was founded as a mission of All Saints’ Parish on the south side of Mulvey Avenue in Winnipeg’s peaceful Fort Rouge neighborhood. The first service was conducted by Father Frank Smith on 13 November 1904. In 1919, the church moved across the road and, a year later, merged its building with a new tyndall stone structure built in a Romanesque style. The present church at the corner of Mulvey and Hugo, having survived two major fires, one in 1959 and a second in 1970, is one of only a few Anglican churches to be designated a historical building. As one enters the church, the eye is immediately drawn to the altar, the central focus of the whole church, which connotes the sacredness, respect, and reverence of this comfortable and unique House of God. For its devoted attention to the spiritual needs of Anglicans in Winnipeg, and the involvement of its congregants in all aspects of community life, a Centennial Organization Award is presented to the congregation of The Parish Church of Saint Michael and All Angels.

An MHS Centennial Organization Award was presented by Lieutenant-Governor John Harvard, Jacqueline Friesen, and Gordon Goldsborough on 3 April 2005.

Page revised: 15 May 2011

MHS YouTube Channel

Back to top of page

For queries on the above page, please contact the MHS Webmaster.

Home  |  Terms & Conditions  |  FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Donations Policy

© 1998-2020 Manitoba Historical Society. All rights reserved.