Events in Manitoba History: Sullivan Drainage Commission (1919-1921)

On 17 January 1919, the provincial government established the Sullivan Drainage Commission. It was chaired by civil engineer John G. Sullivan along with municipal official Harry Grills and entrepreneur J. A. Thompson. The commission examined the system of drainage districts that existed in Manitoba at that time and, in December 1921, submitted a report to Minister of Public Works C. D. McPherson.

The report recommended:


“Permanent drainage board recommended”, Manitoba Free Press, 23 December 1921, page 7.

Wet Prairie: People, Land, and Water in Agricultural Manitoba by Shannon Stunden Bower, Vancouver: UBC Press, 2011, p. 85.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 10 December 2012