Events in Manitoba History: Royal Commission on Construction of the Legislative Building (1915)

This Royal Commission was established by Lieutenant Governor Douglas C. Cameron in early 1915 to investigate charges of corruption in the construction of Manitoba’s Legislative Building. Its three members were judges Daniel A. Macdonald, Hugh John Macdonald, and Thomas G. Mathers (Chairman), with the support of registrar Geoffrey H. Walker. Premier Rodmond Roblin resigned after the Commission’s findings substantiated the charges.


“Here’s Royal Commission in session,” Winnipeg Tribune, 23 April 1915, page 1.

This page was prepared by Gordon Goldsborough.

Page revised: 23 March 2017